Day 45 – Abstract Pear

20 May

I had so many plans for day 5 of my food week and then I did something crazy to my knee which has left me somewhat of a gimp. I am in a lot of pain so running around taking photos was not an optionย  once I got home from the doctors. I did however manage to get something I think is interesting. It didn’t turn out exactly as I wanted because I didn’t have much help in the lighting department but I am happy considering the limitations I faced today.

Thomas suggested that I focus on color and Patty suggested that I get in close and I took both of those to heart and came up with this abstracted pear composed of a lemon, orange, apple and a pear. I love the colors against the blank background as well as the shadow being cast by the fruit. The first time I tried it I had them all stacked up to make it look like a full pear but I like this abstracted version better and how you can see through the off center sides to the background.

I would love to try this again with some staged lighting but like I said I am quite happy with the results. I shot on automatic with my external flash and a frosted gel over the head of the flash to reduce glare. I imported the photo into photoshop to lighten up the background because it had a yellow cast too it that I didn’t like. I simply duplicated the layer (layer-duplicate layer) then I used the level and brightness to get the desired outcome (image-adjust-levels or brightness/contrast), once I was done with that I simply erased the fruit from the top layer using a feathered brush to leave behind the original layer of fruit with the adjusted layer of the background.

Please tell me what you think, your comments and suggestions have been invaluable this week.

Abstract Pear

Abstract Pear

28 Responses to “Day 45 – Abstract Pear”

  1. Laura May 20, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    Perfection.

  2. Terri Jacobson May 20, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    This is great. I love the whole idea. Very creative.

    • mindymilburn May 20, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you Terri, you have been inspiring me ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Susan May 20, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    Well after reading your description, I didn’t know what I’d find for a picture .. all that layering and erasing. But goodness, it’s stunning! Another one for a wall somewhere. Do you have toothpicks holding all that together? This is one of my favorites.

    • mindymilburn May 20, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

      I like the word stunning :)Thank you!

      No toothpicks holding it together it is just stacked up on my counter.

  4. Bonnie May 20, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Love it!

  5. Christopher Shiner May 20, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I love absolutely everything about this photo, from the creativity of even thinking of doing something so unique, to the execution of the idea (the framing, the unexpected mix of colors, etc…) And I think the lighting is perfection.

    Seriously, I loved this shot so much I immediately made it my background photo for my iPhone lol. Enough said! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • mindymilburn May 20, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

      You are too cute.

      Thank you and thank you! Creativity was my friend yesterday I think ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Swapmeet Louie May 20, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    The pic got out of my dreams and into my car.

    It also knew who to call…

    It also hit me with its best shot…

    It also knew the answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind…

    It also knew why there are so many songs about rainbows…

    That’s quite a lovely picture ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mindymilburn May 20, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

      That was quite a way to comment lol

      Thank you.

  7. Allison May 20, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    That?

    Is AWESOME!!

  8. BILL May 20, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    I LOVE IT!!

  9. kimhannigan May 20, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    STUNNING!! Extremely creative. I even love the little drop of juice you can see on the bottom left of the pear ๐Ÿ˜€

    • mindymilburn May 20, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

      That is actually water I sprayed on it to make it more appealing ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to see it worked!

  10. Julie May 20, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I LOVE this!! It looks like am MC Escher picture. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Stasia May 20, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    I like how it all looks freshly picked and luscious. I bet it was a tasty lunch, too!

    • mindymilburn May 20, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

      It is still in my fridge LOL I might need it again for another shot ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Jackie May 20, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    OMG I love this photo! I would love one for my kitchen. Did you stack this yourself? Just amazing.

    • mindymilburn May 20, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

      Do you want me to send you the original file so if you ever wanted to print it out you could?

  13. Jackie May 20, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    I forgot to say I also love the drips of water on the pear.

  14. pmc May 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Tres cool.
    Do you eat all of your photo props afterward?

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

      I saved in just in case I wanted to shoot something else and then I ate it lol

  15. Glen May 25, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    This is a great idea. Very creative. Nice way to spend the time when stuck at home.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

โ€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.โ€ Eccl 11:4 TLB

