Day 44 – When Life Hands You Lemons…

19 May

On to day 4 of my food theme and I have never had this much issues with taking photos. It is very disheartening actually as well as discouraging so I need to regroup and try to salvage this weeks theme and I intend to do my best starting tomorrow lol. I talked with a friend about it tonight and after venting my frustration he gave me some pretty sound advice that I am going to try to follow.

I do however enjoy this shot of the lemons, I like the colors playing off the cutting board and the background and I like the reflection of the lemons in the juice on the cutting board. I am just not jumping over the moon for it.

I am trying to learn how to take photographs of everything. There are some things I know I can take photos of and wow most of you, because some things just have a wow factor. There are even mundane things I think I can give the wow factor to by the way I frame it or edit it. I am just drawing a blank on the food. Is it possible to have photographers block? The whole point of this blog is to learn about myself as a photographer, to learn about my camera, and  to learn about photography so I know there is a lesson in here somewhere and as soon as I find it I will let you know 🙂

Lemons for my Green Tea

Lemons for my Green Tea

14 Responses to “Day 44 – When Life Hands You Lemons…”

  1. Laura May 19, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    If this is photographer’s block, oh please Lord–LET ME BE BLOCKED! LOL! I like everything you like about the photo. You certainly made lemonade out of whatever block you’re having.

  2. Susan May 19, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    Yup, this one and the tomatoes are my favorites this week.

    • mindymilburn May 19, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      I am working hard for this LMAO!!! I sure hope inspiration hits me and soon!

  3. kimhannigan May 19, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    This is easily my favorite food shot thus far. This is an awesome picture Mindy. I think whatever block you were having was left on the cutting board with those lemon slices!

    I do see your frustration though in the food shots. Reading your struggle each day and looking through your pics has made me wonder what I would be taking a picture of if I was doing food and I honestly don’t know. Whoever said it a few comments back nailed it – food is kinda boring. But kudos to you for sticking with your theme and working out the kinks you have been feeling. 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 19, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

      I don’t think food is boring though, that is where my frustration is coming from. I think food is beautiful and up until this week have always LOVED taking photos of it. I am just having a mental blok and I am trying hard to push through LOL

      But thank you for the encouragement on today’s shot 🙂

  4. Swapmeet Louie May 19, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    The colors in this pic are wonderful! I like the simplicity of it… it’s not too busy and I know exactly what to focus on.

    The tough part about any art is finding what to focus on. Some people want to explore the whole thing before settling, while some people know exactly what they want to do. I respect and understand both approaches, and applaud the quest.

    I’ve been reading about your frustration this week, and I can relate. I think that deep in your soul you know when you’ve posted something that is just a notch above the past posts. Take that gut feeling and keep experimenting with that kind of style. There are subgenres up the arse when it comes to art… you know you hate shooting food, but do you hate shooting food for color like this one? It’s much more vibrant than the others, even though it’s so simple.

    You’re journey is exciting to witness. Keep sharing, keep exploring, and keep trusting your gut. You’ll amaze yourself, I promise.

    • mindymilburn May 19, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      I have no problems differentiating between a great shot and an “eh” shot, most of the time I know which of my photos is going to elicit a reaction out of people and they of course elicit a reaction out of me or I wouldn’t choose them. I don’t even hate to shoot food, I hate to shoot food this week because I have zero inspiration in me for it, up until this week I have loved plating, and the colors, and well everything about it. I was actually excited to do this because I have always enjoyed photographing food…so I was doing something I loved it just didn’t turn out the way I had planned.

      At the month and a half mark I am just exploring all the options, I am exploring the settings on my camera. The point isn’t to find out what I like to shoot, I already know that, the point is to find out about me as a photographer and about my camera. How to frame a shot no matter the subject, how to light it, what ISO works and why, what aperture settings work best for different lighting. It is all about the technical aspect of photography for me right now so that if this goes to another level I will be ready for anything.

  5. Stasia May 19, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Maybe you should try looking at some other photos of food to get inspiration. It might spark something creative. Or maybe it doesn’t have to JUST be food – maybe you need more in the picture. I mean, how interesting is it to look at food anyway?

    • mindymilburn May 19, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

      Another friend suggested that and I have been looking…I am still not inspired LOL. And on the contrary I think food is gorgeous to look at most of the time 🙂 I am just having a difficult time finding that in me for whatever reasons. This has been a learning week for me though and that is what it is all about.

  6. Jackie May 19, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    You got my mouth watering.

    • pmc May 19, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      Jackie hit it. A food shot should get you craving that exact food, that exact instant.
      As far as capturing it with a camera: whether it’s the color, the juiciness, the crunch, the shape, the pattern, the texture – whatever appeals about that particular food, I say go for it and focus on that.
      You’re doing a great job.

      • mindymilburn May 19, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

        That is a great point Patty, focus on the part of the food that is exciting to me…maybe I just need to bring the shots into the food. Thank you for the encouragement!

    • mindymilburn May 19, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

      HEH, it did mine too when I was shooting. I love to eat lemons!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

