Day 42 – Not Just for Ball Games & Movies

17 May

This food thing is kind of annoying me.

I talked about how inspirational food could be and bragged about a friend who took the most gorgeous shots of plates of food and to be honest I am just “eh” about the whole thing. Maybe because I have to do it I am not finding it so interesting. I have always hated being told what to do (even if I am the one telling myself to do it.)

I love the colors in the plating of this photo and I do love me some nachos because you can get them practically anywhere and they come served in a variety of containers. This happens to be one of the prettier plating’s of said nachos that I have seen and the framing was intentional, you know that whole rule of thirds thing and all. I enjoyed all the different textures represented here with the table, the chips and even the cheese and yes they were YUM 🙂

Nachos

Nachos

11 Responses to “Day 42 – Not Just for Ball Games & Movies”

  1. kimhannigan May 17, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    BWAH!! Don’t you love to be confined by your own rules? Heh. For what its worth, I think this picture is pretty. I’m particularly fond of that mosaic plate. It definitely brings that picture to life 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 17, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

      Thanks Kimmy, it is pretty but still BLEH lol I don’t like bleh

  2. Swapmeet Louie May 17, 2010 at 4:02 am #

    I’ve always found food to be incredibly difficult to shoot because it just sits there. It doesn’t do anything interesting but turn into a bolus then chyme then finally poop.

    Your shots are making me realize how closed minded and impatient I am. If nachos can tell a story then so can I.

    Dig the streaks of cheese on the bowl. There’s character there. The only thing missing…

    • mindymilburn May 17, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

      yeah yeah, you and an umbrella I got it.

      And why must any comment on my blog include the word poop. You know I don’t like that talk.

  3. Susan May 17, 2010 at 6:19 am #

    Agree, I liked the last theme better. Maybe you could do repetitious food. That would poop you out!

    • mindymilburn May 17, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      Nope gotta stick with each theme, it teaches me a lot about myself and I actually like shooting food, just not when I have to I guess.

  4. Stasia May 17, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    You need to go get some sushi at Sake Blue. That would be worthy of a photo I guarantee!! Every time I eat there, I wish I had my camera.

    • mindymilburn May 17, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      I would have to go with you and play with your food, me and raw fish are NOT friends. But I do think it is gorgeous.

  5. Lisa May 17, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Your intentional framming works! Very pleasing presentation. YUM for the nachos…. LOL!

  6. Laura May 17, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Great shot! And I agree with Tommy–the cheese stripes over the edge of the bowl really add something to the photo.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

