Day 40 – Let’s Go to the Movies

15 May

This is the final day of my repetition theme week and I have to say I am going to miss it because this composition appeals to my aesthetics a lot.

Every time I go to the movies I want to take a photo of the rows of chairs and usually all I have is my  camera phone which simply can’t capture enough light to get any shot worth using so when we went to see “Iron Man 2” I was so happy that I had brought my camera along for the afternoon out. I didn’t have my tripod so I had to take about 15 shots just to get one that wasn’t too blurry from me shaking (I couldn’t get the angle I wanted if I sat it on the arm of a chair) but I did get a decent one and I love the composition of the photo, if I do say so myself.

I definitely want to try again when I have a good base to attach the camera to so I can be creative with the edits in Photoshop. I converted this one to black and white just like the last shot I took and added a bit of a tint to it. I truly hope you guys enjoy it as much as I do!

Lets Go to the Movies

Lets Go to the Movies

15 Responses to “Day 40 – Let’s Go to the Movies”

  1. Jackie May 15, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    Girl, you are too cool!

  2. Susan May 15, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    It’s perfect!

    • mindymilburn May 15, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      REALLY?!?! LOL and it isn’t even in color 🙂 Thank you, MWAH

  3. Allison May 15, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    What an awesome shot!

    Iron Man 2 was the bomb!

    • mindymilburn May 15, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

      Thanks Allison, and yes it really was a great movie.

  4. Swapmeet Louie May 15, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    Like holding your breath…

    The ONLY thing missing here is a huge picture of me on the screen with an umbrella in one hand and a model of the Enterprise in the other. Oh yeah, I’m wearing a raincoat, too.

    Yeah… that’s the ONLY thing missing from this shot.

    • BILL May 15, 2010 at 8:21 am #

      Just remember old Swap… This woman is armed and dangerous with PHOTOSHOP. (I’d pay good money for a shot like that!! LOL)

      • mindymilburn May 15, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

        Great compliment 🙂 Thank you.

        That image of you on the screen CAN be arranged you know… Like Bill said, I am quite good with photoshop

  5. BILL May 15, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Bringing your camera to the movies? hmmmm so when do we get to see the bootleg?? 😉

  6. mindymilburn May 15, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    LOL I didn’t bring it to the movies, I had it out with me for the day and there is ZERO chance on earth that I leave it in the car for any reason. 🙂

  7. Laura May 15, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    ooohh…very interesting. I think I can even see popcorn on the floor!!!

  8. Christopher Shiner May 16, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    This shot turned out so great. I remember you getting a bit frustrated cause the theatre was just dark enough that it was causing too much blurring for you.

    But you are so good I knew your persistance would pay off. I love the black and white, and the contrast you put into this. And this bit of blurring you kept enhances the shot. Sort of like static motion. It feels like the theatre is ominously waiting for people. I love it.

  9. kimhannigan May 17, 2010 at 12:16 am #

    If you could see me now, I’m bowing down to you. This is one of those shots that I would have never thought to take yet look at how stunning it is!! It’s so classy. The framing, the tint…perfection. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

