Day 39 – Red Chairs

14 May

Day 6 of my repetition theme and again this photo has repetition coming out of its ears. The chairs, the bricks, the artwork, the wood beams behind the chairs. It is just a plethora of repetition. The original photo was very bright and colorful but I decided to do a little photoshopping and tone down all the colors.

I really find this shot quite interesting and I remember the moment when I saw the chairs. I made Chris stop the car, I jumped out without a word and he had to circle the block because traffic was so heavy. I am sure the people behind us thought I was nuts because it was also raining, but when you see a shot that makes you turn your head you have to get it.

I got the effect by duplicating the original layer (layer-duplicate layer) and then I converted the top layer to black and white (image-adjustments-black and white) Once I was finished with that I lowered the opacity of the top B&W layer to about 72% (you can do this on your layers pallet at the top right) and then I upped the contrast considerably until I got the look I wanted (image-adjust-brightness/contrast)

Red Chairs

Red Chairs

Here is the original shot for you Miss Susan 🙂

Chairs Full Color

Chairs Full Color

14 Responses to “Day 39 – Red Chairs”

  1. Laura May 14, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Cool mural + fun chair arrangement = perfect photo op. I love the editing you did, too. Makes the chairs stand out better, I think.

    • mindymilburn May 14, 2010 at 11:30 am #

      Thanks Laura, I wanted the chairs to pop but I didn’t want to do selective coloring…I thought this would be a good alternative 🙂

  2. Swapmeet Louie May 14, 2010 at 1:55 am #

    Thanks for explaining how you edit the photos… for all of us Photoshop impaired, the tips are great for experimentation and learning. I’m still trying to learn how to crop the #@%%* thing.

    Regarding the shot… the chairs really stand out and makes for a great focal point. I’m a huge fan of brick, so it’s nice to see the textures.

    You’re capturing not only moments but culture as well. Photography is all about marking time, in my opinion, and this site is a wonderful representation of just that.

    • mindymilburn May 14, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      I have seen your photoshop skills, they are fun! LOL

      Thank you for the compliments on what my site represents as well that means a lot to me. I always say that I like to capture moments in time and photos are the scrapbook of your life.

      I love brick too, I have no idea why but the texture is wonderful to shoot.

  3. Susan May 14, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    Is that outside? Looks funny to see those inside looking chairs outside. Great mural. Do you have the original photo? Can we see it?

    • mindymilburn May 14, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      Yes it was outside and it was raining lol

      I will post the original photo tonight. You will most likely prefer it because it is seriously colorful 🙂

      • Susan May 14, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

        You know me so well! I do like the original better, but understand you wanted to bring out the chairs. You accomplished your goal! Thanks for posting the shot!!

      • mindymilburn May 14, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

        I really love the full color one, it is the reason I jumped out of the car but yes in the interest of my theme I wanted to focus on the chairs 🙂

  4. Stasia May 14, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    I really love this shot. I think it would fit in very well in a gallery.

    • mindymilburn May 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

      Aw, thank you Stasia, I think if I had the opportunity to hang my work in a gallery I might seriously pass out lol

  5. BILL May 14, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    And that is why you are so good!!! I probably would have walked right past this and never given it a 2nd thought…. You saw the art, and composed the picture…. It’s awesome!!!

    • mindymilburn May 14, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

      You sir are just too kind, thank you so much. Once you start using your new camera on a regular basis you will start doing the same thing I promise!

  6. Laura May 15, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Ooohh…I likey. Much more dramatic with the edited pic. I have Microsoft Digital Pro and not Photoshop. I have done some editing of my pics, but I don’t know if the Microsoft product can do what Photoshop does. (I have seen something about layering somewhere in there, but didn’t know what it did)

    • Laura May 15, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

      …Digital Image Pro, that is.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

