Day 38 – A Game of Checkers

13 May

Well it is day 5 of my repetition theme week and I bring you a game of checkers.

Today was a very difficult day for me and I almost skipped the blog but it didn’t make sense to skip something I love just because I had a bad day, it made more sense to distract myself with something that makes me happy πŸ™‚

There is definite repetition in the color, the shapes and even the board itself has a repeating pattern. I did a selective coloring by using the “black and white” function in photoshop (image-adjust-black and white) you will get a menu pop up with color options and I took took every color I didn’t want down to zero.

A Game of Checkers

A Game of Checkers

14 Responses to “Day 38 – A Game of Checkers”

  1. Swapmeet Louie May 13, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    I’m always amazed on what Photoshop can do. I think that’s an artform in itself. This is a fine example of that… the textures of each item are accentuated just by the color differentiation. Very cool shot!

    Sorry you had a bad day. If it’s because of mean, stupid people, then they suck.

    • mindymilburn May 13, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      Thank you. Many people argue about using photoshop to manipulate photos but I can’t imagine not having it as a tool to aid in what I create. The greatest program every created in my opinion πŸ™‚

      Bad days are gone by morning.

  2. Susan May 13, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    How you can take that subject and know how to make such an interesting picture with it is beyond me!

    • mindymilburn May 13, 2010 at 10:04 am #

      πŸ™‚ I shall take that as a very high compliment!

  3. Christopher Shiner May 13, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Photoshop is an artform unto itself and an invaluable tool. And I don’t understand people who think using it is cheating. People have been using their creativity in exploring what can be done to a photo for years, by way of cropping, or using a darkroom to overexpose a photo, or to add scratches or color, etc… Photoshop just made it easier to do and gave a wealth of more tools at your command.

    And it amazes me what a talented eye for pictures you have. Just like they say great singers could sing the phonebook and keep you riveted, that’s the talent you have for pictures. You have the ability to take something seemingly mundane that other people take for granted and elevate it to art.

    • mindymilburn May 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more with what you said about photoshop. I remember the first time you did something in it and I was SOO jealous. I thought you were a genius LOL

      And thank you so much for always encouraging me and supporting me with such kind words.

  4. Bonnie May 13, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Cool shot. I need to learn more about photoshop. I normally use PhotoImpact.

    • mindymilburn May 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks Bonnie.

      I don’t know what PhotoImpact is but I highly recommend photoshop.

  5. Laura May 13, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I agree with everything Chris says πŸ™‚ To me, it’s only cheating if you use it, then deny using it. And your eye is superb! I love the photo.

  6. Jennifer May 13, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I absolutely LOVE it! All of your photos are amazing my dear.

  7. Allison May 13, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Photoshop is an indispensable tool. You can get a not so hot photo and turn it into something completely different. Love it. What version are you running, Mindy?

    Great work!

    • mindymilburn May 13, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

      Thanks Allison, and I couldn’t agree more about photoshop!! I am currently using CS4 but I sure would like to have CS5 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

