Day 37 – Cactus

11 May

Thanks for all your comments about why we are drawn to repetition in a photograph, it is good to know there are so many of you structure minded weirdos out there πŸ™‚ I found a really good quote that pretty much sums it up for me “Constant repetition carries conviction” and I think that is very true about why I am drawn to it in a photograph.

Today’s shot is part of a cactus and the repetition is once again in several places but this time it is in the texture of the object. My friend Kim said that after we had talked about me using this for one of my theme weeks she began to notice all of these repeating patterns that she never saw before and I think that is one of the best outcomes of these 365 blogs, that we can inspire each other to see things we may have walked past previously.

I chose to convert this shot to black and white in photoshop and added a little unsharp mask to it. I hope you enjoy the outcome.

Cactus

Cactus

18 Responses to “Day 37 – Cactus”

  1. Laura May 11, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Love the cactus! The unsharp mask adds a crisp feel that makes the needles look like they’re going to poke me if I touch the screen LOL!

    • mindymilburn May 11, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      I do love to use unsharp mask on b&w πŸ™‚ and oddly enough I didn’t touch this cactus to see if it was pointy LOL

  2. Swapmeet Louie May 11, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    Man, I can feel those spikes on my skin!

    OUCH!!!!!

  3. Jackie May 11, 2010 at 4:00 am #

    Wow what detail. The detail is amazing! Love it! I am loving this week’s theme.

    • mindymilburn May 11, 2010 at 9:06 am #

      Thank you Miss Jackie, I am loving this theme as well. I am worried cause I don’t know what to do next week lol

  4. Susan May 11, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    Well I never really noticed the definite pattern on a cactus before. I love this theme!

    • mindymilburn May 11, 2010 at 9:06 am #

      HEH, learn something new every day don’t ya! I love this theme too πŸ™‚

  5. Christopher Shiner May 11, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    This is one of my favorite photos you have done so far! I love how it’s framed, and with the sharpness of the picture combined with how close up it is, makes me feel like I can just reach out and touch it. I also love that we are seeing the repitition that comes about to play even in nature. So beautiful.

    And I think the decision to make this black and white and up the contrast was the perfect choice. Because I don’t have added distractions, it focuses my eye on on the white sharp beauty and starkness of the needles.

    LOVE it!!!

  6. mindymilburn May 11, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    So tell me, do you like it? LMAO!!

    Thank you sir for all the kind words, nature is probably the one place you can find repetition the most and not even realize it until you look for it.

    OH and I thought the b&w was a good call too, but I knew you would agree with that when I did it lol

  7. Stasia May 11, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    I think this one probably wouldn’t be as cool in color as it is in B&W. Well done!

  8. Marcey May 11, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Gorgeous! I think this is my favorite. So simple but so beautiful.

  9. Sharon H May 11, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    One word – sharp – in every way! πŸ˜‰

    • mindymilburn May 11, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      Thank you Sharon πŸ™‚ Shapness was the idea lol

  10. Kimmy May 11, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Wow, I concur with most everyone else – this is probably one of my favorites so far. Between the subject itself which is just plain interesting, to the black and white to the fact that it involves using a macro lens of sorts (you know how I love those now LOL)…it’s just perfection!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

