Day 36 – Silhouette in the Sunset

10 May

Day two of my repetition week and this shot combined by obvious love of sunsets over water with my theme. I love how not only are the poles repeating a pattern but the bridge itself is as well and all of it is in silhouette from the beautiful sunset. I have a feeling I could do weeks on end with this repetition theme.

Does this type of composition call to any of you other photographers or even those of you that love art? I am trying to put my finger on why I like repeating patterns so much and I can’t quite figure it out. My friend Thomas took a photo on his camera phone one time of a hallway I believe with windows and they just repeated with the shadows down the hallway and it was probably one of the most stunning shots I have ever seen and I was jealous that I hadn’t taken the photo. To this day I remember that photo and that pattern that was created with the composition.

Maybe that is the appeal for me, it is memorable and forces your eyes to move along the shot so that you tend to remember it more than others. Whatever it is I am sure this is a theme I will be coming back to before the years end.

Shilouette in the Sunset

Silhouette in the Sunset

16 Responses to “Day 36 – Silhouette in the Sunset”

  1. Swapmeet Louie May 10, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    That’s a gorgeous shot. I can almost feel myself sitting there, watching the sunset, without a care in the world except wondering where the heck that photo that you’re referring to went.

    Bridges are such a beautiful thing to shoot… especially for the repetition theme.

    • mindymilburn May 10, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

      Thank you, I sure hope you can find that photo. It was beautiful.

  2. Susan May 10, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    That’s a ridiculously good shot! Love the repetitive pattern, but what catches my eye are the different angles of the repetitive pattern! And if two constitutes a repetitive pattern, then you have three repetitive patterns with the skyline! Do you sense a repetitive pattern in my comment?

    This photo really draws the eye and commands you to take it all in. Another contest winner!

    • mindymilburn May 10, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

      Aw, shucks thank you! 🙂 MWAH!

      By the way, you crack me up!!!

  3. Christopher Shiner May 10, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    This shot is so beautiful and peaceful. I love the colors and the repitition, not just in the railing, but also in the girders in the bridge.

    As to why you like the repitition so much, I think it is largely due to the fact that your brain likes order and symetry (as does mine), and that a pattern or some sort of repitition in a shot sort of brings order to chaos, and our brains find that quite pleasing. 🙂

  4. Kimmy May 10, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    This is one of my favs that you have posted thus far. It’s gorgeous!! Yes, we discussed the repetition thing while you were here and its amazing how now I notice it a lot more than I used to ha ha. But I agree, I think it makes you look across the entire photo, which them makes you notice alot more details in the picture, rather than just looking at it and moving on to the next, at least for me anyway. In addition to the very cool reps int his picture, can we discuss the colors of this particular sunset? Good gravy that’s gorgeous!! Love love. 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

      Thank you Kimmy ❤

      When are you going to start your blog woman!!!???

      • Kimmy May 11, 2010 at 9:26 am #

        I know, I know!! I really do want to. Maybe this weekend although I have to laugh because several of my pics look VERY similar to ones you posted last week LMAO!! We knew that was gonna happen didn’t we? Heh. You’ll have to help me get it set up oh blog guru 😀

      • mindymilburn May 11, 2010 at 9:29 am #

        LOL, well that happens when you shoot together but shooting together is so fun! You could always start fresh this week and take new ones and then post those later in the year LOL !!! MMMHMMMM 🙂

        And you just let me know when you are ready and I will help you set it up!! YAY

  5. Sharon Hutto May 10, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Very pleasing shot. I love the stark contrast of the colors. I think that part of the appeal of repetition (for me too) lies in our subconscience – the continuity of something we can rely on is soothing and begets trust. I’m not explaining it well, I know. Maybe someone else can.

    • mindymilburn May 10, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

      Thanks Sharon, and you are explaining it well or at least I understand what you are saying LOL. Especially the something you can rely on part, I think that is perfect.

  6. BILL May 10, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    Tommy Who??? 😉

    Absolutely amazing shot. I LOVE the symmetry. (Yeh.. my mind works that way too.. LOL) So now I have to ask the all important question. Did you wait for NO CARS to be on the bridge or was that an accident? I love the fact that there are no distractions. No planes, cars, ducks, people, yetis.. you know.. distractions.

    If I stare at it long enough, I could swear that the sun is getting closer to the horizon. Very relaxing.

    One of your best so far!!!

    • mindymilburn May 10, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

      Thank you Bill 🙂

      The no cars was accidental, although I think the railing on the bridge is too tall to see them either way. No Yetis HAHAH I just cracked up.

  7. Jackie May 10, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Gorgeous!

  8. Laura May 11, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    I also think this is one of your best shots. And I’m sure you cropped that yeti right out… 😉

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

