Day 32 – Looking Glass Falls

6 May

Waterfalls are innately beautiful which translates in almost any photo that is taken of them so getting a pretty shot of Looking Glass Falls wasn’t a hard task by any means. This 60 foot waterfall empties into Looking Glass Creek in Brevard, North Carolina and I was lucky enough to get to see it in person when my sister and Mike took my mom and I on a scenic drive last weekend.

From what I have read the falls get their name from “Looking Glass Rock” which freezes up in the winter and reflects light like a mirror, so you can only imagine how badly I want to go back to get some shots of that even thought I despise cold weather. TheΒ  day was very dreary and rainy but it didn’t distract from the natural beauty that the falls had to offer. I shot on shutter speed priority to blur the water so that I could capture the movement and I am pleased with how it turned out. The place was deserted because of the rain and it was a very peaceful and beautiful so I hope I was able to bring a piece of that back with me to share with you.

Looking Glass Falls

Looking Glass Falls

20 Responses to “Day 32 – Looking Glass Falls”

  1. Rob Rockitt May 6, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    You are making me want a better camera with a faster shutter speed.

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 8:11 am #

      I shall take that as a great compliment πŸ™‚ but you have a good camera sir I have seen your photos!

  2. Sharon May 6, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    What a beautiful site to be seen by your own eyes – lovely pic, Mindy.

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 8:10 am #

      Thank you so much Sharon πŸ™‚ It was a beautiful place and I would love to go back!

  3. Swapmeet Louie May 6, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    Looking at this pic, coupled with the song I’m listening to now makes… me… feel… so… peaceful.

    Wonderful way to end the day. Thank you!

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 8:09 am #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ It was a very peaceful spot.

      By the way, what were you listening to?

  4. Susan May 6, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    This may be my favorite yet! All the angles and lines and textures … I really love it! Beautiful spot.

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 8:09 am #

      Thank you Susan! The whole place was gorgeous, and filled with so much life. I would love to go back when it is not raining.

  5. mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Beautiful!!

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

      NO this is not me telling myself how awesome I am, this was my sister Karla LOL she was signed in as me. I am not going to delete it because it makes me laugh!

      And thank you sis, I had such a good time with you guys, thank you for taking us there.

  6. mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Ummm sister, I just left that comment “Beautiful” and for some reason it say’s I’m logged in under your name….perhaps you didn’t log out when you were here visiting? πŸ˜›

  7. Karla May 6, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    After I posted it I was like why is Mindy’s picture on my post?? LOL….We had a great time too and I am looking so forward to your next visit πŸ™‚

  8. Beth May 6, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    I love this picture and LOVE waterfalls…..now that I have my ‘new’ ‘old’ camera I want to take a picture of a waterfall, but hopefully not drop it in the waterfall this time 😦 You really need to teach me how to use my camera better. Love ya!

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      Yes maybe you should stay away from waterfalls for a bit LOL!

      We need to go out and shoot some SOON! I will teach you all I know. Which unfortunately isn’t very much πŸ™‚ MWAH!

  9. Laura May 6, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    LOL to talking to “yourself,” Mindy…

    As much as I like the waterfall, I am intrigued by the texture and color of the rocks and water in the foreground. That alone would make a fantastic picture too!

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      I agree Laura, I was trying to get as much of that in as I could and really wanted to get down in the creek but I was too afraid of slipping and breaking my camera.

  10. Stasia May 6, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Wow – the greens are SO green. Did you monkey with the color?

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

      I boosted the saturation on all the colors in photoshop but I don’t think it did a whole lot to any one color, I just wanted a little more contrast.

  11. BILL May 6, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    OK….. I could sit in this spot for hours….

    We have a similar place near New Paltz NY, with the green moss and clear water. One of my favorite places in the whole world…..

    Your picture makes me want to take my shoes off and walk into the pool.

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

      And that is a good thing πŸ™‚ It really was a place I could spend a lot of time at and be so peaceful.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

