Day 31 – Footprint

5 May

As we were crawling around the creek rocks in North Carolina (I have no clue what the name of the creek is) I took my shoes off and got in the water so that I could get closer to what I was trying to shoot. As I stepped out of the creek I noticed the contrast of my wet footprint against the dry rock and just had to get a shot.

I didn’t do any special settings for this shot so I have no wisdom to impart to you about that I just thought it was a cool photo. I framed it using the rule of thirds, which I am trying hard to keep in mind while taking photos, but other than that I was simply drawn to the contrast the water brought out in the rock.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with the rule of thirds, it is basically a composition rule of thumb where you divide the shot into nine equal parts using 2 imaginary vertical and horizontal lines, and all important elements of the shot should be placed along these lines or at their intersection. Of course there are always exceptions to every rule but I have found that if I keep this rule in mind I get more dynamic shots so I always try to apply it even if I take a second shot completely ignoring the rule.

Footprint on the Creek Rocks

Footprint on the Creek Rocks

10 Responses to “Day 31 – Footprint”

  1. Susan May 5, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    Look at those cute little toes!

    • mindymilburn May 5, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      LOL! Well, I do think I have cute feet so thank you 🙂

  2. Christopher Shiner May 5, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    Awww that’s a really cute shot. I love it a bunch. The rock texture is great.

    It’s a good thing your have small cute feet. I’m not sure my feet would have had the desired effect lol!

  3. Laura May 5, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    This would make a great computer wallpaper. It’s eye-catching, yet serene.

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 8:13 am #

      I think I am going to make it my wallpaper for a bit 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion and thank you as always for taking the time to comment!

  4. Lisa May 5, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Love the contrast between the wet and dry rock! Awesome!! 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 6, 2010 at 8:12 am #

      Thank you Lisa, that is exactly why I chose it. That contrast just jumped out at me 🙂

  5. Allison May 5, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    Nice shot!!

  6. Swapmeet Louie May 6, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    I rather enjoy this picture. It’s got a nice texture to it… plus it’s difinitive proof that Big Foot DOES exist.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

