Day 30 – America The Beautiful

4 May

If you know me you know that my life ambition is to travel the world and see, well everything. This has been part of who I am for as long as I can remember but sometimes I am reminded of the beauty and undiscovered corners of the world that we have right here in America.

This past week I was able to visit with some of my closest friends and Kim took us all on a tour of Chimney Rock in North Carolina. To say the place was stunning would be an understatement and to share it with good friends was the icing on the cake. The view was breathtaking and every shot that I took had something beautiful to offer but I chose this shot because when I actually saw it with my naked eye it made me take notice.

Since he wasn’t posing for me I had about two shots to get the settings right because I wanted to keep his silhouette on the dark side while retaining the color of the sky and the flag. I had my ISO set on 400 and I used a slightly faster shutter speed so that the shadows would remain fairly dark. It wasn’t exactly the way I wanted it but it never is and I was happy with the outcome.

Chris Enjoying the View at Chimney Rock

I took Laura’s suggestion and did a rendering of the image with a brighter flag, I didn’t even think about doing bracketing on this photo to create an HDR photo because there just wasn’t time to think lol. I imported the photo into photoshop and created multiple layers of the original image and played with the brightness and color contrast of each image and then I merged them together to get this effect.

American Flag edited

American Flag edited

15 Responses to “Day 30 – America The Beautiful”

  1. Laura May 4, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    I think you accomplished what you set out to do. Chris is silhouetted, and the sky is a vivid blue. I wonder if trying an HDR image would have brought the flag into more brightness?

    Either way, it’s a grand photo, and has a lot of visual interest, so you should be pleased with the result.

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      I posted an edit for you :)Thanks for the suggestion, I really didn’t even consider editing the photo which is silly because it is my favorite part LOL

      • Laura May 4, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

        Outstanding! It looks perfect.

  2. Susan May 4, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    That is a nice picture. I agree with Laura that the flag could be brighter. Can you make it brighter with your magic powers and post it so we can see if it makes a difference? What a beautiful sky. He’s tall, huh?

  3. Stasia May 4, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Great job! Especially for something you did in a hurry.

  4. Kimmy May 4, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    OBAMA!!! *snort* I love the photo but I love what you were able to do with the flag and brightening up the sky. Makes the photo just pop! Nicely done 😀

  5. mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    You are too much LOL

  6. BILL May 4, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    The EDIT is AWESOME!!! (I may need to add this place to my “things to do list”)

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 11:12 am #

      Thank you Bill and thanks again for the suggestion ladies. Chimney Rock really is quite beautiful and we didn’t even make it all the way to the top so if you get a chance I say definitely add it to your “to do” list.

  7. Swapmeet Louie May 4, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Wow. Photoshop is so amazing! I would never have thought the second shot was edited unless you told me. My dad showed me a pic he did where he added an entire skyline in the background. Unless he pointed it out, I would never have guessed it was added. Very nice!

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 11:17 am #

      Photshop is my second boyfriend, next to my iPhone 🙂

      Now I want to see this photo of your dads…I will be expecting an email asap!

  8. Laura May 4, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Wow…just gorgeous. And I have to tell you it evoked a very strong emotion from me. Not exactly sure what emotion, but it did bring a tear to my eyes.

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

      Laura that could quite possibly be the best compliment I have ever gotten, thank you!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

