Day 29 – A Bug’s Life

3 May

I am late posting today because we were traveling home trying to get through the horrible weather in TN and KY. My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone affected by the storm and thankfully all of my friends in these areas are okay.

This is the second day of my North Carolina shots and the girls and I tried our hand at a little macro shooting 🙂 Now let me start off by saying that I do not have a fancy macro lens, although I covet them on a regular basis so instead we used the “close-up” or “macro” setting on our cameras (usually indicated by a flower) and I had my 75-300 mm lens attached. The close-up setting, as it is called on my camera, basically does everything for you it just allows you to focus in on more of the detail of a small object.

I found this little ladybug on a stem and once I showed the girls we spent about 20 minutes just shooting that darn thing, but we had fun. I think we all left there wanted to hunt for bugs, and I can honestly say that is the only time in my life you will hear me say those words. The results were pretty cool even if they make me itch a little every time I look at them.

Lady Bug

Ladybug

Mosquito

Mosquito

11 Responses to “Day 29 – A Bug’s Life”

  1. Laura May 3, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    I feel like I need 3-D glasses for the ladybug picture, and that’s a good thing. It looks like it’s coming right towards me. Good work!

    • mindymilburn May 3, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

      Thanks Laura! Bugs freak me out LOL Thankfully I don’t mind ladybugs 🙂

  2. Susan May 3, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    I love ladybugs. Mosquitos not so much. You did good!

    • mindymilburn May 3, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

      I hated that other bug A LOT!! But I put on my big girl panties and did it anyway 😀

  3. Christopher Shiner May 3, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Lol! I think both pictures are great. You got the macro blurring effect perfectly with the your foreground subject in focus. Those are hard shots to pull off right and you totally did.

    You and bugs huh? I would have paid to have pictures of you trying to take pictures of bugs. I can see you doing ok on the ladybug, but that bug on the bottom might as well have been holding a “I’m going to freak Mindy out” sign on it. That’s hilarious.

  4. Lisa May 3, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Cute little buggies LOL! Nice job!

  5. Kimmy May 4, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    This was so much fun! I learned so much that day MAN ALIVE – who knew?!? 😀 These turned out really great. Christopher you cracked me up because you are so right. Mindy rightly informed us that there would be very few bug pictures on her blog LOL!!

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      Me no likey the bugs…no likey at all.

      The lady bug was cute though and you guys cracked me up, OUTA MY WAY MINDY bwah. I said um can I come take photos again now 😀

  6. Swapmeet Louie May 4, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Really dig the ladybug shot! Insect shots have always been difficult for me because the bugs just sit there and have no expression. Kind of like taking a picture of you.

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 11:11 am #

      Thanks for diggin’ the ladybug 🙂

      OH and that was a nice try but my burn was WAY better…go ahead and admit it. I rule you.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

