Day 28 – Sunset on the Lake

2 May

Taking Kimmy’s advice I decided that this week I am going to be posting photos from my trip to North Carolina because I was able to take so many it seems a shame that they go to waste. If you see the same photos on either Kim or Lecia’s page that is just too darn bad, we were like the three stooges with our three cameras going nuts LOL! As a matter of fact I think Chris took a photo of us in the creek looking exactly like the three stooges.

It was so much fun having three people traveling around with you that understand the need to make a sudden stop and take a photo, and take photos we did. I have been encouraging both Kim and Lecia to start a photo blog and hopefully they will both think harder about it after this weekend (HINT HINT)

I don’t even know the name of this lake but it is just up the road from Kim’s house and as we were drving back from Chimney Rock I saw the sunset on it and said “oh Kim, that would be a great photo” without even batting an eyelash she tunred in and hopped out of the car with me! That is what I mean about the great feeling of being with people who “get it”

We stood around taking photos of the sunset, trying different settings until this paddle boat lucked into the shot and I think it is just beautiful.

Paddle Boat in the Sunset

Paddle Boat in the Sunset

22 Responses to “Day 28 – Sunset on the Lake”

  1. Jackie May 2, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    I absolutely love this picture! I love the “textural” differences between the trees, the clouds and the water. So pretty. It def could be a poster.

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

      Thank you my dear 🙂 what a sweet thing to read

  2. Laura May 2, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Another great one! I’ve always said you have the best photographic eye of anyone I know. It’s just perfect. And yes, it could be a poster!

    As for Kim and Lecia doing photo blogs, they should definitely do it! I would love to see the world through their eyes. I just love my friends who “get it.” They know who they are 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

      Wow Laura, thank you my friend. That was such a wonderful for you to say.

      I hope to get them girls on the blog-wagon soon 🙂

  3. Daesha May 2, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    AUNT MINDY I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SHOT!! all caps was necessary!!

  4. Julie May 2, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Love this one, the sunlight is hitting the tree in just the right spot. 🙂

  5. Susan May 2, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Wow! Yes that could be a poster or a calendar picture. Just beautiful.

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

      Thank you Susan 🙂 I must come to NC more often if these are the kind of reactions I get LOL

  6. Christopher Shiner May 2, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I agree with Julie, the tree aligning perfectly with the sunset on the water really makes this shot. And I love that you got the paddle boat in the shot as well. It’s a gorgeous picture.

    Lol! I’m glad your with a bunch of likeminded photo ninjas willing to stop at a moments notice to capture a great picture! Photo ninjas unite!!!

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

      Photo Ninjas Unite!! LMAO!!

      Thank you sir as always 🙂

  7. Swapmeet Louie May 2, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    Wow that’s a great shot! I feel like I’m there without even being there. Wonderful!

  8. Lisa May 2, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Beautiful!! 😀

  9. Allison May 3, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    The paddleboat anchors the rest of the photo, I think..and the way the tree is so large and the boat so small appeals to me. If that makes any sense at all. Great capture!!

    • mindymilburn May 3, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

      Thank you Allison, I like the contrast as well and was so glad he decided to paddle our way 🙂

  10. Stasia May 4, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    This would make a great post card! Or, once again, a nice framed pic for the wall. I really like.

  11. Kimmy May 4, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE! I’m so glad we stopped because the pics I got are some of the best I’ve taken too 😀 This picture is simply stunning. Thank gosh for random paddle boats huh? 😀 I miss you already!

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      This shot will probably find its way in a frame on my wall sometime soon lol I have been framing different ones to hang in my house and I have to say I like it better than having other artists hanging on my wall. Although I will never get rid of my Van Gogh or my Picasso

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

