Day 27 – Me and My Shadows

1 May

I have been posting these at inconsistant times of the day lately and that is because I am on the road visiting my sister, Kimmy, Lecia and finally getting to meet Chris (who by the way is my second favorite Chris of all time!!!)

This is the final day of my week of shooting just people and I have to say I am rather happy about it. I know I will have to keep forcing myself to come back to this excercise so that I can learn to love it but it is really hard. I knew I was going to be seeing the girls and I knew that I wanted a photo of us to be my “photo of the day” but I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to go about doing that since I have to take the photo but I wanted to be in it.

I thought about using the tripod but that just seemed so boring and then the lightbulb went off over my head…take a photo of our shadows, so that way I could be in it but I could still take it. I told them of my plan as soon as I got there and they agreed, as if I was going to give them a choice LOL. I love to take photos of shadows or reflections and I have seen some amazing shots of both so I was excited to try this out.

I wanted to find an textured surface to take the shot and we ran across it pretty quickly going to Chimney Rock in SC. There wern’t any real tricks to this other than just pointing and shooting but I did add a little contrast to it in photoshop so that the shadows were more pronounced.

Ladies, I had so much fun with you guys and I miss you already and Chris, well lets just say that I am a fan πŸ™‚

me and my shadow

me and my shadow

18 Responses to “Day 27 – Me and My Shadows”

  1. Laura May 1, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Awesome shot. Possibly my favorite of yours so far! The planks were a perfect background for your shadows. Excellent!

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 10:36 am #

      Why thank you Laura πŸ™‚ It turned out better than the one in my head LOL

  2. BILL May 1, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    “Almost” looks like Charlie’s Angels!!! NICE!

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      THAT woud have been a great idea, where were you at on Friday πŸ™‚

  3. Jackie May 1, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    You are too cool!

  4. Lecia May 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Min, it turned out awesome. Great idea. Can’t wait to see more from yesterday. πŸ™‚ And Bill, you are a genius. Why weren’t you there yesterday; Charlie’s Angels pose would have been even more perfect. πŸ™‚ Next time!

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      Yup, next time it shall be the Angels!! MISS YOU

  5. Kimmy May 1, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    LOVE IT!! It turned out great and the plank background is even better than I expected πŸ˜€ Awesome! And we totally missed the boat on the Charlie’s Angels idea..that would have been cool. We will be doing that in LA in August πŸ˜€

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 10:38 am #

      Your mission should you choose to accept it is to get an angels photo in Cali πŸ™‚ Thanks for a wonderful wonderful day my friend

  6. Beth May 1, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I LOVE this picture…..but I have a question. Did you all smile while she took this picture? I don’t know why that was the first thing that popped in my head πŸ™‚

    By the way Mindy I look forward to this blog everyday, I haven’t wrote any comments until now. But just know that I think you are amazing. Love Ya

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      Bessie, Lecia not only smiled but she did the head tilt and we all cracke up laughing about it and it is SO funny that you asked!!

      And you are seriously the bestest! You are my partner in crime so half the time I am able to take photos it is because of you πŸ™‚ (You started sining the Kelly song didn’t you)

      Love you too!

  7. Susan May 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    I LOVE IT! Three of my very favorite shadows!!

  8. bonnie May 1, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    Hang in there! You’re doing a great job πŸ™‚

  9. Swapmeet Louie May 2, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    I’ve enjoyed your people pic week. It’s always a
    challenge to capture the essence of a soul through photography. I’m still working on it too.

    Keep em comin’

    • mindymilburn May 2, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      You sir have been my inspriation on more than one occasion!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

