Day 25 – Painting With Light

29 Apr

Christopher always volunteers to be my guinea pig when I come across a new technique I want to try out and this time was no exception (he is pretty fantastic that way). I wanted to try something called “light painting” where you put your camera on a long exposure and then use a flashlight or some external light source to paint the subject that you are shooting with light while the long exposure captures it.

This is a technique I will definitely be practicing with, as I have seen some gorgeous photos done in this manner but for my first attempt I feel like it went pretty well. Chris sat in my living room in complete dark and I played around with different exposure times until I settled on 10 seconds and then I painted his face with a mini maglight, sweeping it back and forth across the surface until the exposure was finished. Not only did I get my “people” shot but I learned a new technique. Light painting is not limited to using people as the subject and you can use any kind of outside light source so I am looking forward to exploring this technique in the future.

And just as a side note, look how cute he is 🙂

Light Paiting Christopher's Face

Light Paiting Christopher's Face

11 Responses to “Day 25 – Painting With Light”

  1. Laura April 29, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    OMG! I SOOOOOOOOO want to try this! I too have seen awesome nature shots done using this technique.

    This is a cool photo. I like it a lot 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 29, 2010 at 8:30 am #

      Well I can’t wait to see your attempts. It really is such a cool technique and I found that you need a light more concentrated on a face than a larger object so now I need to hunt down different types of flashlights or strobes 🙂 One of the prettiest shots I saw using this was fall trees at night, it was so gorgeous!

  2. Susan April 29, 2010 at 5:04 am #

    Christopher is a saint. A very cute one! I like the picture a lot! Sounds like an interesting technique to experiment with.

    • mindymilburn April 29, 2010 at 8:22 am #

      Thank you Susan, it is quite interesting to do, and I want to play with it on different subjects and with different lights. He is a saint isn’t he 😀

  3. Bonnie April 29, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    I’ve seen some interesting shots done this way. There’s one photography magazine that talks about this technique quite a bit. The pictures they show are kind of surreal.

    Cool pic 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 29, 2010 at 8:31 am #

      Yes, most of the ones I have seen looked like they were in a dream, I just loved it. I got a few books two weeks ago and one talks a lot about night photography and that is where I saw some of the most fantastic shots using this technique I have ever seen.

      Thanks Bonnie!

  4. Stasia April 29, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Did you change this pic to black & white? Or is that part of the technique? Cause I was thinking it might be interesting with different colors of lights.

    • mindymilburn April 29, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

      I changed it to black and white and I actually did one with a blue gel over the light and it was cool too, I will post it when I get home 🙂 I love the suggestion of using different colored lights though! THANKYOU!

  5. Allison April 29, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Ooh! I’ve always wanted to try this. Now I’m going to have to! Very cool pic!

  6. Kimmy April 30, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    I LOVE this technique and I love this muse 🙂 I cannot wait to see you explore your creativity with this girl, it will be awesome 😀

    • mindymilburn May 1, 2010 at 11:22 am #

      I love them both too, It was SOOOO awesome to get to take photos with you yesterday!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

