Day 23 – Return of the Village People

27 Apr

This is the second day of my week of shooting just people and I already want to switch to something else! If you photographers out there have any advice on this please lend a girl a hand 🙂 I love people, I just don’t love photographing them unless they are totally unaware and I can capture those moments when they are just being themselves.

These girls however made my whole entire day! They were sitting on a wall in front of the record store (ear X-tacy) on Bardstown Road having a grand ole time yelling at people in passing cars, dancing on the sidewalk, and generally just enjoying life. I had to turn around and go back to take a photo of them, crazy head adornments and all. They reminded me how important it is to just have fun and of course as soon as the camera was pointed towards them they turned into sassy little teens 🙂 I wish I had been able to just stand there and shoot them without posing for the shot but the street was very busy and I had to move along.

I hope they make you smile as much as they made me smile.

Return of the Village People

Return of the Village People

15 Responses to “Day 23 – Return of the Village People”

  1. Laura April 27, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    I can see why you turned around! Good for you! I read a blog that suggested a 100-day people project where you walk up to strangers and ask to take their photos. I don’t have the nerve for that, and like you say, they’re not natural at that point.

    I think you captured the essence of these girls, though. They dared to be different, and they didn’t shy away from the camera. Good work!

    • mindymilburn April 27, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      I saw that suggestion too Laura, and while I wouldn’t have a problem asking strangers to take their photos I just hate posed photos LOL So can I just stalk people first and then tell them why I am acting like the paparazzi after I get a good shot? LOL

      • Laura April 27, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

        You do that and tell me how it goes… 😉

  2. Laura April 27, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    Oh, and I liked the color of the building and the wall. That just added to the funky ambiance that created a frame for the girls.

  3. Nancy April 27, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    Ahhh… to be young again. That made me smile Mindy. 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 27, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Thank you Nancy!! 🙂 They made me smile too!

  4. Christopher Shiner April 27, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    Lol. I’m so glad we made that u-turn. This shot was totally worth it. So funky and awesome. I think you are not giving yourself enough credit about shooting people, because you really have a good eye, and you’re only getting better and better. Ha! And those girls really were calling out to everyone and anyone that walked by weren’t they? Hilarious! That cat hat on the middle one kills me everytime.

    • mindymilburn April 27, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Thank you Christopher! I am trying and you help me every step of the way. Those girls were hysterical lol

  5. Stasia April 27, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    It was very nice of the one in the middle to wear those green shoe laces on one foot to pull all the colors together for you! 😉 (Is it still shoe “laces” when it’s only on one foot? Hmmm…)

    Anyway, I love the shot, too. And I think the they don’t look “posed” (other than the thumbs up) they look like they were just sitting there and you came along.

    Maybe if you ask people NOT to pose. Just tell them to look in another direction or something?

    • mindymilburn April 27, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      Those laces cracked me up, I didn’t even notice until I went to re-size the photo.

      When I do shoot people intentionally I actually try to wait for them to look away, I just really like natural body language and when people are just in their element being themselves. Maybe I could get them interacting with others so they forget I am there.

  6. BILL April 27, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    They remind me of being at a carnival… You get 3 throws…. You must knock them completely off the wall to win a PRIZE!!!! (and they are taunting you!!!) LOL

  7. Susan April 28, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    They had to call out to people? I think their outfits do all the calling out necessary. Hee. I love this shot!

    • mindymilburn April 29, 2010 at 8:28 am #

      Their outfits sure called out to me…so much I had to turn around and go take a photo 🙂 I loved it. I love when people just don’t care what others think.

  8. Allison April 29, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Bwah! Nice shot, Mindy!

    • mindymilburn May 1, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      They were quite fun 🙂 Thanks Allison!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

