Day 22 – Singing in the Rain

26 Apr

Well it was more like playing in the rain…

I decided this week to take photos of people. It is probably my least favorite thing to shoot so I figured I better learn to love it. I still have huge issues with posed shots but maybe if I dedicate some time to just shooting individuals I will find my rhythm.

Christopher and I had a nice relaxing Sunday with some lunch, hanging out at Starbucks, playing in the rain, and then watching “Iron Man.” My shot for the day is one we took on the way home from the coffee shop. I saw the bricked alley out of the corner of my eye and immediately asked him to turn the car around so we could go take some photos. I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time. He was jumping in puddles getting soaked but in true Chris form he was a trooper about the whole thing.

Singing in the Rain

Singing in the Rain

I just had to include this photo because it makes me laugh every single time I look at it. Christopher is a ham, I mean a serious ham and when I asked him to go play in the rain so I could get some photos of him he didn’t even blink. He is so committed to what he is doing in this shot that as soon as I reviewed it in the alley I laughed for a good five minutes.

Christopher playing in the rain

Christopher playing in the rain

29 Responses to “Day 22 – Singing in the Rain”

  1. Laura April 26, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    Nice! Love the splashback he’s creating in that puddle! And I like the selective color you use in the first shot–really emphasizes the weather conditions.

    I want to do people pix too, but my friends are NOT hams. I’m looking forward to going to Oregon where my bro and niece and nephew are a little more cooperative 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 8:32 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I had it in my head all day long that I wanted to get a black and white shot of with the umbrella in color so I was happy.

      Hope you have a fun trip and get some good people shots 🙂 I need to correct my earlier statement…I do like to shoot children!

      • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 8:32 am #

        Er…photograph children, not shoot! LOL

    • Mike April 29, 2010 at 5:49 am #

      Hi! I’m Laura’s brother (or bro, as she puts it – I got here from HER photo blog).

      First off – both pix are excellent, for different reasons… The one of Chris walking away is fantastic. Sort of a modern-day James Dean shot… Love what you did with the color as well.

      Oh, and “Committed” was the perfect way to describe your “model” in the second shot. Have a great day!

      • mindymilburn April 29, 2010 at 8:20 am #

        Hey Mike, thank you for reading and commenting! I really appreciate it and I “know” who you are. I have heard Laura talk about you often 🙂 Don’t worry it is all good stuff 🙂

        And thank you so much for the modern-day James Dean comparison, what a wonderful compliment! Hope you have a wonderful day as well.

  2. Sharon April 26, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    LOL Love the one of Christ, playing in the rain. Nice job on the top photo. I’m really enjoying all of these pics, every day.

    • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 8:30 am #

      Boy if I had a photo of Christ playing in the rain…we wouldn’t have to worry about living so far away, I would have my own jet 😀

      Thank you Sharon for reading my blog and being so supportive!

  3. Sharon April 26, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    Oops. Chris, NOT ChrisT. Geez!

  4. Christopher Shiner April 26, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Me a ham?! I don’t know what you’re…I mean I’m not a…pffffttttt there’s no proof that…. Crap.

  5. Christopher Shiner April 26, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    The black and white shot of the street is absolutely gorgeous. I’m so glad you saw that street. The road and the reflection of the puddles and the way the street is lined up in the shot are beautiful. I know I’ve said it before, but this is something that could be in a magazine, and definitely should be framed. And the way you isolated the color in the umbrella just completes how striking the picture is.

    And the guy holding the umbrella isn’t half bad either. 😛

  6. Tony April 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    You need one of Chris and Me Frolicking. 😀 Great shots!!!!

    • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

      You just let me know the when and the where and I will gladly shoot that activity 🙂

  7. Dawn Wilson April 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I love it Mindy great pics. Chris is hilarious… I love your 365 days of photos project very cool… I’m proud of you. Love ya, Dawn

    • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

      Aw Dawn 🙂 Thank you for reading my blog and for commenting. So very sweet. Love you too!

  8. Christopher Shiner April 26, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    A Christopher and Tony picture of joy and frolicking!That would be EPIC! And totally NOT gay. At all (eyes scan the ceiling). Nope not one bit….not that there’s anything WRONG with that. 😛

    Frolicking is totally manly.

  9. Laura April 26, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Love both pics, the isolation of colors is beautiful. And what a ham he is, did he ruin a good pair of shoes??

    …first thought I had on the first one was…Charlie Chaplin…

    • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Thank you so much Laura… and you are the FIRST to get that. He was totally doing the Chaplin walk 😀 look at you all smart and stuff!!! He didn’t ruin his shoes but his socks were soaked and he couldn’t wait to get home and change them lol

      • Laura April 26, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

        Well that’s good cause it would probably be pretty painful if his feet were pointed out like that all the time!

  10. BILL April 26, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    The first picture is one of my favorites so far. I love the punch of color… (The Chaplin walk is funny) As for the 2nd one… Made me laugh. Talk about your “never grow up” poster child. You caught the splash perfectly!!!

    • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

      Thank you Bill 🙂 and yes there is never a dull moment with him for sure and isn’t that what life is all about!

  11. Susan April 26, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Chaplin??? I was thinking more of Gene Kelly! Christopher, we’ve never met, although I feel like I know you, and I adore you! Mindy, I love that first one!

    • mindymilburn April 26, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

      Aww! Gene Kelly!!! He can dance too so that is a good comparison 🙂 He would adore you too Susan so hopefully you will get the chance to meet some day.

  12. Stasia April 27, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    You’re right. He IS a ham!! But I think the picture is great. It would be fun to frame the two of them and put them side-by-side with a mat between them: a contrast between the silly and serious.

  13. Lisa April 28, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    I had missed this day somehow! Love the selective coloring! 🙂 I am going to have to find something to play with that on…been too long!

    • mindymilburn April 29, 2010 at 8:26 am #

      It is one of my favorite techniques to use and of course I love all the reflections off the bricks in this one too! Thanks sweetie for commenting.

  14. tfldotcom April 30, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Me likey B&W rain picture. Likey me do.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

