Day 21 – Storm Clouds

25 Apr

It stormed here all day so getting out to take a photo was challenging, as soon as it let up and the storm clouds were starting to roll out I stepped out into my parking lot and set up my tripod. I love the reflection of the lights in the water, which is what I had in mind for a rainy day shot (just much more pronounced) so hopefully I can make that happen on another rainy day. I like the contrast in the sky as well, you can’t really tell if the storm was rolling in or out in the photo, but thankfully it was on its way out!.

Hope you enjoy the shot.

Storm Clouds

Storm Clouds

15 Responses to “Day 21 – Storm Clouds”

  1. Laura April 25, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    I love storms, and that photo is awesome! It’s one I would definitely hang on my wall. I love the contrast between the navy of the clouds and the orange of the lights reflecting on the street.

  2. Jackie April 25, 2010 at 2:03 am #

    Wow! I am really loving your blog and your pictures. I look forward to receiving this gift in my email each night and seeing your take on each subject. This picture is magnificent!

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 9:44 am #

      Thank you for reading Jackie, you are such a sweetheart! I am glad you are enjoying it 🙂

  3. Sharon April 25, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    Love it! Very dramatic!

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 9:44 am #

      Why thank you sweet Sharon 🙂 Dramatic after it’s maker HAH

  4. Lisa April 25, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    Awesome photo! So dark….very emotional! Love the silouhette aspect. Nice nice job! I agree with Laura! I would have this one hanging on my wall!

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      “Emotional” I love that word to describe it, thank you my friend. I am so glad you guys liked it.

  5. Christopher Shiner April 25, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Wow! I’m in love with this picture. Not just the dark beauty of the colors, but also how balanced everything is. For instance, how the landscape with the cars and street sweeps up into the buildings on the right, with the sky mirroring it as it sweeps from the top and down to the left, with a perfect line of sunset prividing the seam. And again, the streetlights lend so much to the colors in the street, and the middle streetlight is almost perfectly in the middle of the shot, providing another balance.

    And you didn’t mention it, so I don’t know if you intended the effect or it’s just lucky happenstance, but there seems to be a slight blurring on the street level to each side, and the whole effect makes the buildings, street and cars look almost like miniture models set against that incredible sky. Gorgeous photo.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      Well you give me much more credit than I deserve 🙂 The street light in the middle was intentional, the cars were a happy accident but I did manipulate the photo to darken where the cars were because they stood out too much. The colors are what they are I didn’t change those but the blurring of the cars I did in photoshop as well.,

      I am glad you like it my dear!

  6. Susan April 25, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    I’ve been on vacation so I am behind checking out the photo blogs. When I saw the title I was totally prepared for a black and white. Heh. You fooled me. Love it.

  7. Daesha April 25, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I love this “photo” 🙂 Aunt Mindy. So peaceful.

  8. Stasia April 27, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    I love the diversity of photos you’ve had on your Blog so far. What I can’t tell – was this during the day or at night? Either way its very cool!

    • mindymilburn April 27, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      It was at night actually, right after sunset and so the sky wasn’t completely black and the clear sky in the background just came through all of the storm clouds. It was quite beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

