Day 20 – Falls of the Ohio

24 Apr

I have lived in this area my entire life and I really don’t remember every going down to the fossil beds at the Falls of the Ohio but somehow we ended up there today. It is a beautiful  and peaceful place and I really couldn’t believe I had never been there before.

I shot on manual mode and had to adjust the shutter speed as the sun went down but I would love to go back and different times of the day and see how the lighting  changes my photography. I still have issues getting the exposure I want shooting during the day so I think I need to put some research time into filters.

I hope to spend many evenings at The Falls this summer and share as much of the scenery with you as possible.

Falls of the Ohio

Falls of the Ohio

8 Responses to “Day 20 – Falls of the Ohio”

  1. Jackie April 24, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    OMG! How gorgeous!

  2. mindymilburn April 24, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Thank you my dear! It was a pretty place to shoot and then that boat just came along at the perfect time 🙂

  3. Christopher Shiner April 24, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    This is such a great shot, and the boat is perfect, especially since the boat and the people are seen only as a silloutte. And I love the fossil bed. I bet it was so beautiful in person if this shot is any indication. You know, I think I have only bed down to those fossil beds once when I was a kid. I definitly need to go back sometime. This is a lovely photo.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 1:46 am #

      We shall go there soon 🙂 There were people fishing all over the place but I do NOT want to fish lol We should go one weekend soon.

  4. Susan April 25, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    That’s an interesting shot. Love how the sun is peeking through.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      Apparently I enjoy sunsets LOL. I loved the falls though, I will be going back for sure to take more photos!

  5. Stasia April 27, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Wow! The sun in the sky and it’s reflection on the water are really incredible! I feel like I was there myself!

    • mindymilburn April 27, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      Thank you!!! 😀 By the way, when are we going to have lunch again?!?!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

