Day 19 – The Blind Side

23 Apr

I spent the afternoon securing my replacement iPhone (mine was stolen about a month ago) and I can’t even begin to describe my happiness and sheer bliss at having it back. Once I got over the separation anxiety at the thought of leaving it at home with Christopher so he could put all the apps back on it, I headed to Northside Christian Church to hear the beginning of their “Desire to Inspire” campaign. Their guest speakers for the night were Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy who were depicted in the fantastic movie The Blind Side, and it was truly amazing listening to their story.

As excited as I was to listen about the Tuohy’s experience with Michael Oher and turning their life story into a book and then a movie, the real inspiration came from the music performed by the church band before the evenings guests even took the stage. Music is one of the best reasons to visit a church and there is no lack of talent at Northside, with a mixture of rock and contemporary I promise you I could spend all night listening to them play.

Northside Christian Church

Northside Christian Church

And of course I had to include a photo of the Tuohy’s on stage. Again, it was amazing to hear their story and just listen to them talk about the value of a person even when the world doesn’t see it. It wasn’t about God or church it was just about seeing the worth in someone and that is a message we can all learn from. I truly appreciated the opportunity to hear them speak.

Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy

Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy

6 Responses to “Day 19 – The Blind Side”

  1. Laura April 23, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    Cool event! Sounds like an uplifting evening.

    As an aside, I always find it funny when they put the plexiglass barrier around the drum kit. I keep expecting to see the sign “DO NOT FEED THE DRUMMER!” πŸ˜‰

    • mindymilburn April 23, 2010 at 8:12 am #

      It was definitely uplifting πŸ™‚

      “Do not feed the drummer” HAHAHAHAHA that is so funny!!! I hate those cages but man that was funny. I so want to see one of those signs now!

  2. Christopher Shiner April 23, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Man that’s such a good movie. It’s awesome to hear that they were so great in person. I would have loved to hear the music. From the pictures it looks like it was an amazing time.

  3. Susan April 25, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I’m just reading the book now, haven’t seen the movie yet! I can imagine it would inspire you to take a picture!

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      Oh I haven’t read the book, I should do that! You will LOVE the movie πŸ™‚

  4. Stasia April 27, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Wow. I love seeing all the color!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

