Day 18 – Bridge to See Exit 9

22 Apr

My mom and I headed out to see Jenn and Neil play at Flanagan’s over in Louisville tonight so I thought my photo of the day would be one of them performing (which it kind of is) but my mom had other ideas. We get on the Second Street Bridge and she decides I need to get out and take a photo of the sunset from the bridge, which I had been wanting to do but had intended to do so with some preparation.

Now, for those of you that don’t know, you are NOT supposed to stop on the bridge much less stop and let someone out. It is narrow and people consistently drive about 20 mph over the speed limit on this bridge, and when you get to the other side there really isn’t a place to stop and wait for a person walking on the foot path. But,  like a good daughter I got out and took some photos and then realized that she has dropped me off very close to the Indiana side and now I had to walk the never ending bridge all the way over into Kentucky 🙂 I was not wearing the proper shoes for a hike but at least it was a nice night, and my mom was waiting on the other side behind some constructions barrels where she was not supposed to be parked. She does things in her own way if you haven’t noticed.

I get in the car and said “mom next time you kick me out of the car can we do it a little closer to where you are going to be waiting for me ?” LOL We had a good time watching Exit 9 perform and as always Jenn was fantastic, Flanagan’s is a very cool place to have an acoustic set. I tried to get some “different” shots  just to see how things would turn out and I am posting a few of the results. It was very low light so I had to use my flash and I also used a frosted gel over the flash to diffuse some of the harshness of the light.

Sunset from Second Street Bridge

Sunset from Second Street Bridge

Exit 9 at Flanagan's

Exit 9 at Flanagan's

Exit 9 at Flanagan's

Exit 9 at Flanagan's

Exit 9 at Flanagan's

Exit 9 at Flanagan's

12 Responses to “Day 18 – Bridge to See Exit 9”

  1. Laura April 22, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    I’m a sucker for sunsets over water, so of course, that’s my favorite. The fully black and white is cool too. I can’t put my finger on exactly why, but it is 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 22, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      Thank you Laura, I love the sunset one too but I would like to go back when I am actually prepared with my tripod and stuff LOL

  2. Christopher Shiner April 22, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    I’m glad you finally got your bridge shot! Though it was frought with peril and hiking, it was totally worth it. It’s a beautiful shot!

    I really like how you framed the picture of the band behind what I’m assuming are bar glasses. It makes for a really interesting effect.

    And of course you know I’m a sucker for making shots black and white but highlighting certain colors, so I love the shot of the band with the beer glasses retaining their original color.

    So talented.

    • mindymilburn April 22, 2010 at 11:40 am #

      We must go back though…just so you know 🙂

      And I liked the two other shots too, like I said I was trying different things just to see and you know me, any chance to do selective coloring LOL My favorite technique 🙂

  3. Stasia April 22, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    I like color. So I really like the first 2 best. But I think the effect you got on the second pic (the one of the band in all color) was really cool with the foreground all blurry like that!

    • mindymilburn April 23, 2010 at 8:10 am #

      Thank you my dear, I was looking for a different angle, TRYING to be creative lol

  4. Lisa April 22, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Love the sunset! The band pix are great…..really fond of the selective colored one focused on the drinks! Great job as always my friend! 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 23, 2010 at 8:10 am #

      Thank you Lisa sweetie! I love to do selective coloring, it really changes the whole feel of a photo.

  5. Allison April 25, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    I love playing w/selective coloring. It can make a “meh” photo into something really awesome! Great photos, Mindy!

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks Allison, I couldn’t agree more with you about the effect it can have on a photo!

  6. Susan April 25, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Hah, I knew you sometimes would not be able to resist posting more than one picture a day. Love the bridge and my favorite one is the beer glasses too.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

      I am not good at selecting LOL! It just isn’t possible. I am surprised your favorite is that one though, seeing as how you are not the biggest fan of B&W. I so take you into consideration every time I post a blog…I have to remember that some people prefer color 😀 So thank you for making me keep that in the back of my mind!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

