Day 17 – Louisville Skyline

21 Apr

I know this has been done to death but I did it anyway. I love a cityscape photograph and a night time cityscape scene is one of the most beautiful things to photograph. Add to that the reflection of a body of water and well it doesn’t get much better than that. I will definitely be going back to shoot this again to perfect the night time scene shots but here is my first attempt.

This is the Louisville skyline shot from Jeffersonville in a small park right by the river. The second shot includes the couple that was there probably trying to enjoy one another on a beautiful night until I came along like the paparazzi and started photo stalking them! It turned out to be quite a sweet photo though so I am glad I ruined their alone time 🙂

I shot using a tripod and played with both manual and night scene mode constantly hecking the ISO, shutter speed and aperture with each shot. These are two of my favorites, and like I said you will probably see a few more in the future of this blog.

Louisiville Skyline

Louisville Skyline

Loving Couple Enjoying the Louisivlle Skyline

Loving Couple Enjoying the Louisivlle Skyline

13 Responses to “Day 17 – Louisville Skyline”

  1. Laura April 21, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    I don’t think you need to go back to perfect the night skyline. I think that first photo is absolutely gorgeous–something I’d hang on my wall, if I was from Louisville, anyway LOL!

    • mindymilburn April 21, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      LOL Laura, that was funny and thank you for the compliment!

  2. Christopher Shiner April 21, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    That’s such a beautiful shot of the Louisville skyline. The colors reflecting off the water are gorgeous.

    Lol! And I really love the second shot with the couple. When we were stalking them, I remember thinking at some point they were going to turn to us and be like “do you mind?” And I would have been like “no, we don’t mind at all. You guys are doing great. Now can you go back to acting natural, she’s trying to take a picture here.” 😛

    • mindymilburn April 21, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      “she’s trying to take a picture here” HAHAH

      It was pretty rude of us, but what can ya do?

    • Laura April 21, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      LOL! And I agree about the colors on the water.

  3. Stasia April 21, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Love it!

  4. Angie Sims April 21, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I LOVE the Black & White one!!! Awesome job Mindy:)

  5. BILL April 21, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    LOUISVILLE has a skyline??? Who knew??? A couple of barns… maybe………. LOL

    (Great pictures!!!)

    • mindymilburn April 21, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

      Barns? Where? That is another one of my favorite things to photograph 🙂

  6. Susan April 25, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Oh I love that first one!!

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 It is one of my favorite photos so far!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

