Day 13 – Four on the Floor

17 Apr

Can anyone tell me what “four on the floor” means? Yeah, I don’t know either.

I went to see my niece and her band play tonight and Kyle the guitar player kept talking about “four on the floor” and every time he said it he made me laugh and I still don’t know why. Probably because he was quite comical. My niece Jennifer is an amazing singer and I am so happy that she finally found a good group to sing with on a regular basis and it was great to see them tonight.

The bar was pretty dark so I had to use my external flash with a diffuser and unfortunately there was some reflective material behind them that kept getting in the way of many of the shots I took,   BUT the whole entire wall behind that reflective surface was beer cans so that was a pretty cool background.

I am going to add a few of the shots I took tonight because there wasn’t just one that really jumped out at me although I like this first one.

Bud Light

Bud Light

Ben and Jenn Singing a Duet

Ben and Jenn Singing a Duet

Jennifer and a Beer

Jennifer and a Beer

Neil on Guitar

Neil on Guitar

Jennifer Bobay

Jennifer Bobay

Kyle on Guitar

Kyle on Guitar

Coca Cola Lamp

Coca Cola Lamp

11 Responses to “Day 13 – Four on the Floor”

  1. Laura April 17, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    That monitor has an industrial-looking “grill” on it (don’t know what it’s really called, but you get what I mean). Might have been fun to play with that. The beer can wall is really cool, though. Definitely makes for a really fun photo background 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 17, 2010 at 8:48 am #

      I honestly didn’t even notice it 🙂 but yes it is interesting!

  2. Dave Lifton April 17, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Four on the floor: It means that the drummer is hitting the kick drum on the every down beat in 4/4 time. It’s the standard kick drum pattern in disco.

  3. Stasia April 17, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Great shots (as per usual).

  4. Julie April 18, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I love the one of the lamp, and Jennifer has got to be one of the most photogenic people I’ve ever seen (must run in the family ;-)), she looks beautiful!

    • mindymilburn April 18, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      I like the lamp and bottle best LOL Why do I not like shooting people?!? That says something about me doesn’t it.

      Jenn is beautiful and thanks for the compliment too 😀 we are just all hams in this family lol

  5. Jason April 19, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I particularly love these shots! Really dynamic.

    • mindymilburn April 19, 2010 at 11:10 am #

      Thank you Jason, what a great word to have used to describe ones work.

  6. Susan April 25, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Well hello Kyle! 😉 Jennifer is an amazing singer.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

