Day 12 – Sunset Over the Ohio River

15 Apr

It was a beautiful night here in Indiana so Christopher and I went down to the waterfront and had a great time taking photos. I shot with and without the tripod, on CA Mode, in Manual Mode, with different lenses, standing up, laying down…in other words you name it I tried it. I guess you could say I was trying to put to use all that I had learned.

I won’t lie, I will probably use many of the shots I took tonight over the course of this blog because I was lucky to have some great opportunities to photographΒ  some beautiful scenery. We also learned tonight that when I have my camera in hand I am allergic to water. Every time I would get near the edge of the river I would panic a little like a cat getting ready to be thrown in the bath tub. I can only conclude that I am quite attached to my camera and I worried that my clumsy behind would fall into the river, not only would that ruin my camera but ruin my metal stability because that river is really murky!

I couldn’t decide between these two shots of the sunset for different reason so I just decided to post them both. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed taking them.

Sunset Over the Ohio River

Sunset Over the Ohio River

Ohio River Sunset

Ohio River Sunset

This next shot is not mine at all. Christopher loves to take photographs just as much as I do and I owe him for nurturing my renewed passion for it a few years ago. He had a wonderful new Canon camera that he allowed me to take to a concert to see Bo Bice, I was even shocked by the quality of the photos I took that night and the reaction from the fans just fueled the fire that was building in me to learn more. He basically turned the camera over to me for the next few years and never once complained that I had it, he drives me around when I want to go hunting for a great shot, and he is my camera pack mule in the process πŸ˜‰ He is so supportive of what I am doing and of what I do so it really is a pleasure to post something for him anytime he decides to wrestle the camera from me to take some shots of his own, any might I say it is a beautiful photograph!

Second Street Bridge - Louisville, KY

Second Street Bridge - Louisville, KY

10 Responses to “Day 12 – Sunset Over the Ohio River”

  1. Laura April 15, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    I keep waiting for the water to drip out of the second photo LOL! All three shots are beautiful!

  2. mindymilburn April 16, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    LOL, that is just funny!

    Thank you Laura πŸ™‚

  3. Kimmy April 16, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I thought of you two last night and wondered where you would end up and if any stealth ninja moves would be required πŸ˜‰

    These are gorgeous! Out of the two sunset pics I think the first is my favorite although I don’t know if I can pinpoint exactly why other than just the rich orange colors. Beautiful shot. And I love Chris’ shot also because it’s something I would have never thought to take a picture of myself. Those are usually the ones that impress me most πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn April 16, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      Thank you Kimmy ❀

      I love Chris' photograph too, I was jealous! LOL

  4. Christopher Shiner April 16, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    The sunset is so beautiful in these shots Mindy. That’s exactly how it was in person. Soooo gorgeous. And you captured the ratio of the sky and the water perfectly. What I love in the second lol, is that it makes me feel like i’m on a boat kind of drifting from side to side. πŸ™‚ And thank you for posing my pic! I like how it turned out.

    And thank you Kimmy! As far as pictures go, Mindy and I both love trying to find something you see everyday and then photograph it in a way that makes you see it in a new and unique way. And yes, the photo ninjas were in full effect last night! πŸ˜€

    • mindymilburn April 16, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      Thank you for going with me πŸ˜€ and not laughing at my fear of the water when my camera was close to it LOL!!

  5. BILL April 16, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I love water sunsets…. I thought the 2nd shot was after a few drinks……….. πŸ˜‰

    • mindymilburn April 16, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

      You really can’t go wrong shooting a sunset over water can you Bill πŸ™‚

      The second shot is me actually holding my camera over the water OUT OVER the water, I was so scared doing this that I would just take and jerk back like a nut LOL, hence the off kilter angle.

  6. Marcey April 18, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    I really like the off kilter photo. I can’t really pin point why; perhaps because I’m a bit off kilter myself, but I find it more interesting. They are both beautiful though.

    I really like Chris’ picture too. I love pictures of mundane things that make you look at them in a different way.

    • mindymilburn April 18, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      I like the off kilter one too!! That is why I had to post it, we must be weird. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

