Day 11 – Risking Your Life For Your Art

14 Apr

Okay that might be a tad dramatic but drama sells right?

I live off of a very narrow, curvy, relatively busy street and as I was driving home today I saw this entire wall of pink, purple and lavender out of the corner of my eye. I knew it was going to be tricky but I also knew that was what I wanted to photograph.  I was still in my work clothes and heels so there I was with my camera slung over my shoulder traipsing through my neighbors yards until I finally get up the street far enough to actually cross and do a  little trespassing.

This is a shot of the side of the driveway that belongs to the neighbor across the street from me and I thought it was just beautiful. My mother informed me that  the plants were called  Creeping Phlox, I just call it pretty 🙂 There were purple, white, lavender, pink and even a couple of blue blooms that I couldn’t get in the shot. I don’t know if they planted this along the hill of the drive on purpose or if it was a happy accident but it certainly is a wonderful way to start your day.

Once again I used my 75-300mm lens to get the blurred background and I also had it set on CA Mode because I was technically on their property and I didn’t want to hang around trying to find the right setting! I hope you enjoy the photo.

creeping phlox

creeping phlox

11 Responses to “Day 11 – Risking Your Life For Your Art”

  1. Laura April 14, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    I’ve been known to do a little trespassing for the sake of art. I’d say your efforts and risk were very much worth it for the result you got. I like the lights barely peeking up over the top of the phlox 🙂 They’ll be more noticeable once the phlox has stopped flowering, I’m sure.

    • mindymilburn April 15, 2010 at 8:25 am #

      Why thank you Laura 🙂 I also liked that the lights were peeking out over the blooms, I will be sad when it turns green.

  2. Susan April 15, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    Hey, I caught the creeping phlox once, ugh it took me two weeks to get rid of it, fever, bad cough … oh, it’s a flower?

    Beautiful picture, Mindy!

    • mindymilburn April 15, 2010 at 8:26 am #

      Thank you, but you so aren’t right! LOL

  3. Christopher Shiner April 15, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Beware of the Creeping Phlox! And tresspassing is TOTALLY understandable in the name of art! 🙂 Uh oh. So we are on day eleven of this photo blog, which means I have at least 354 potential days that Mindy will see something awesome, give me the bottom lip pout, and I’ll suddenly find myself in a legally tenuous situation and/or running from guard dogs, because the perfect photo opportunity HAD to be seized. Guess I should invest in work gloves and start wearing more layers lmao. Again, the colors in this picture are sooo pretty. And I like, not only how the lamps peak out, but how the shot seems slightly skewed (or was it just the lamps that are skewed on the ground?), but the effect makes the picture even more dynamic. Beautiful.

    • mindymilburn April 15, 2010 at 9:19 am #

      Bottom lip pout LOL!! Just be lucky we are working tonight and not out running around, because you never know what kind of trouble I could round up 🙂

      The shot is skewed, I took it at an angle, thank you for noticing that!!! I took a couple straight on and then turned the camera a bit and loved the effect.

  4. Kimmy April 15, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Chris pointed out my favorite thing about this pic which is the angle. I think the way the light reflects off of the grass and the flowers brings all of the different shades to life in this picture. It really is beautiful girl.

    Chris, you had me crackin’ up. I can just see you and Min decked out like Inspector Gadget trying to get ‘the perfect shot’ ha ha.

  5. mindymilburn April 15, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Thank you Kimmy 🙂 The angle ended up being my favorite decision about this shot!

    Inspector Gadget…HAHAHAH

  6. Christopher Shiner April 15, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Lol! That’s right Kimmy, Mindy and I are Ninjas. Tell your friends.

  7. Jackie April 15, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Gorgeous! I love phlox, I love Spring and I love your blog!

    • mindymilburn April 15, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

      Thank you sweetie! You are just the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

