Day 10 – Weeds and Wildflowers

13 Apr

I don’t have any new settings or techniques so I hope you don’t find me lazy today, I just took this photo and really loved it so I wanted to share it. I was laying in the grass playing with Bailey and I looked over and saw these wild violets and dandelions in the grass and I said to myself,Β  “self those are some pretty colors, you should take a photo.” Seeing as how I always listen to my own advice because I am always right I snapped a shot.

I used my 75-300 mm lens so blurring the background was as simple as just focusing on the wild violet in the front and the lens did all the work. Spring is one of my favorite seasons because of the colors that creep in after a dull and dim winter and so I will probably be shooting a lot of flowers over the next few weeks, I hope I do not bore you guys πŸ™‚

Wildflowers and Weeds on a Spring Day

Wildflowers and Weeds on a Spring Day

14 Responses to “Day 10 – Weeds and Wildflowers”

  1. Sharon April 13, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    Beautiful. This is one of my favs so far!!

    • mindymilburn April 13, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

      Thank you! I am glad you liked it, and here I was apologizing for not having anything too interesting πŸ™‚ love ya!

  2. Laura April 14, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    Flowers are awesome! As a kid, my mom would send us out to pick the violets in the yard before dad got out the weed killer. Always made me sad to see the flowers shrivel before their time, but I enjoyed the little toothpick holders that we filled with the purple flowers. Thanks for the memory!

    • mindymilburn April 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      I love a good trip down memory lane πŸ™‚

  3. Christopher Shiner April 14, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    I love the colors in this shot. You took some pretty good advice from yourself lol. I’m so glad winter is over!

    • mindymilburn April 14, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

      Why thank you, boo to winter…having said that boo to summer too. Cant’ we just have spring and fall?

  4. Laura April 14, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Beautiful. I love pics of flowers…I took a pic of the lone daffodil in my yard yesterday. I’m anxious to see how it turned out. Of course my camera died after 2 shots, so it’s gonna be all luck. You are inspiring me.

    • mindymilburn April 14, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      Thank you Laura, that is so kind and wonderful to hear. Please share the photo you took when you get it off your camera πŸ™‚

  5. NYnancy April 14, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    I often wondered how photographers can get one thing in focus like you did. It all depends on the lens you’re using? Never get tired of nature shots… love it, Mindy.

    • mindymilburn April 14, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

      Thank you Nancy :)I was o happy to see your comment. It has been far too long since I have seen you!

      The telephoto lenses (and others) can make that an easy process but so can some of the settings on the camera as well.

  6. Lisa April 14, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    Beautiful Mindy! πŸ™‚

  7. Susan April 15, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    So I’m wondering if I need new glasses because the background is all blurry but then read that was the object of the game. Still wondering why anyone (you artistic types) would want blurry but then that front violet said “look at me, dummy, I stand out!!”.

  8. mindymilburn April 15, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    HAHA Susan, you crack me up. Yes the whole point of a blurry background is to focus on whatever is in the foreground but I know how you dislike it πŸ™‚

    I promise to shoot some crystal clear stuff too!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

