Day 8 – Man, & Mom’s Best Friend

11 Apr

I decided I wanted to work more with the shutter speed priority (TV) setting on my camera today and see if I could do the “panning” technique, and let me tell you I need lots of practice 🙂 From what I understand it works best if the subject that you are shooting is moving vertically in front of you but I am sure as you master the technique this has some wiggle room.

The idea is to freeze the action of the moving subject while the rest of the photo blurs to create the movement in the picture.  First you set your camera up for the shot and  select the appropriate shutter speed for your environment. Secondly, you apply the panning technique by focusing your camera on the subject and then you start to follow with your lens (keep the subject in the same place in your view finder), once it gets in front of you snap the photo while continuing to follow the subject as it crosses your path.

The subject of my photo shoot today was Miss Bailey Addison, my mom’s Yorkie and her 5th child. She is adorable and a little princess just like her older sister and we had a blast trying to get her to do exactly what we wanted so that I could take photos of her. She was surprisingly mindful and I was able to kind of get the shot I was going for. She is mostly in focus while the yard reflects the movement of her running. Like I said I have a lot more practice time to put into this particular technique but it was fun using it for the first time today.

Bailey Addison playing in the yard

Bailey Addison playing in the yard

And of course I had to include one of her portrait shots just because she is so darn cute and was so good to sit for me after a long walk in the park.

Bailey Addison resting in the park

Bailey Addison resting in the park

8 Responses to “Day 8 – Man, & Mom’s Best Friend”

  1. Patty April 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    These are so great Min! I’m really enjoying this journey with you as you discover new aspects of your craft. Bravo for going for it girl! Little Miss Bailey frolicing in the yard is so sweet, you can really see that she was in motion when the shot was taken.

    • mindymilburn April 12, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

      Thank you so much Patty, for reading, for supporting and promoting my blog. You are so awesome!

      I am having a lot of fun learning all these new techniques I just hope I don’t run out of ideas lol

  2. Jackie April 12, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    I am really enjoying your daily blog. Little Miss Bailey is certainly photogenic and adorable!

    • mindymilburn April 12, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

      Thank you so much for reading sweet Jackie!

  3. Susan April 13, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    Well she is just too cute! Spoiled much?

  4. Christopher Shiner April 13, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    The frozen motion blur you caught is so cool. The photo totally captures the fun frolicing that Bailey was doing. And man Bailey can mug for the camera. What a picture diva! And I love the colors in the shot.

    • mindymilburn April 13, 2010 at 9:01 am #

      It didn’t catch the motion quite as much as I would have liked but that is where practice will come in. She is so cute though running through the grass, and yes she mugs for the camera…mom would tell her to stay and she would until I was done. Such a little sweetheart.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

