Day 7 – Static Motion

10 Apr

I do realize that the title is an oxymoron but it is quite fitting for what I tried to accomplish today. I worked with my shutter speed priority setting (or TV) and I had no idea all of the cool things I could do. I have honestly never used this setting before and I didn’t get to practice all the techniques I learned about so I will definitely be going out to work with this particular setting again.

The TV setting is semi-manual in that you can play around with the shutter speed and ISO but the aperture is set for you to maximize the exposure. This setting is all about motion, the lower the shutter speed the more motion you will get out of the photo and vice-versa. I had it in my mind that I wanted to try this on some type of moving water so I was on a mission to find some close to home where I could set up my tripod and test out the different shutter speeds.

Below you will see basically the same photo with the first set at a very fast shutter speed (I believe I had it set at 1/1000) and as you can see it caught the static image of the water fall,Β  you can still see the beads of water and make out the individual strands flowing over edge and the roughness where it meets the bottom. The second was set at a slow shutter speed (1/30) and as you can see it depicts the water in motion blurring the water while all of the inanimate objects stay in focus. I have to say I think I prefer the second photo and I can’t wait to use this setting more in the future.

Waterfall with fast shuter speed

Waterfall with fast shutter speed

Waterfall with low shuter speed

Waterfall with slow shutter speed

16 Responses to “Day 7 – Static Motion”

  1. Mikey April 10, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    I like them BOTH!

  2. sweepingcindy April 10, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    I love them both, but prefer the second one as well – the water in the middle looks purple on both pics, which is cool and a random observation (sorry). You make me want to play some more with my camera settings!

    • mindymilburn April 11, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      It was not a random observation because I noticed too πŸ™‚ great minds…

      Cin, I know you already have a blog but by all means get your camera out and share the photos you take here if you want. πŸ™‚

  3. Kimmy April 10, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    OMG amazing. You are really making me want to go pick up my camera and check out all the things I’ve been missing ha ha. I don’t know how many of these things I have available on my camera but at least I want to look and find out now so THANK YOU. And I’m such an indecisive person I can’t decide which one I like better but I think maybe the 2nd one by a smidge πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn April 11, 2010 at 10:10 am #

      Girl get that camera out already. I am sure it has a TV mode or S mode and every other mode I have. I would be so happy if you would do this with me. Even if you just do it once a week or something. It would be so fun to share stories and trade ideas πŸ™‚

  4. BILL April 11, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Now if only everyones concert pictures could
    freeze motion like that! Looks like a great spot to sit an ponder.

    • mindymilburn April 11, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      Wouldn’t that be fabulous Bill, I think you need those expensive lenses for that kind of action lol Ones I will never be able to afford πŸ™‚

  5. Susan April 11, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    Of course you know I like the clear crispness of the first one … but I find the second one interesting, particularly that splash in the middle. Good job on finding that spot to experiment with your settings!

    • mindymilburn April 11, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

      I had to trek through some woods to get there lol and you know I don’t like woods πŸ™‚

      I am usually a big fan of clean crisp photos but I really love the movement of the water in the second one and I definitely want to practice some more with that technique. One plus for you though…it is in color πŸ˜€

  6. willa April 11, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I love this picture I want to be there right now. Is it a secret place?

    • mindymilburn April 11, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

      Thanks mama, and no it isn’t a secret, it is off of Blackiston Mill Road, shocking huh? πŸ™‚

  7. Stasia April 12, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Oh I don’t know. I like them both, but I think the second one is cooler because you wouldn’t see it as often.

    • mindymilburn April 13, 2010 at 8:55 am #

      Thanks Stasia πŸ™‚ I liked them both too but I really do like the second one a lot. I had never used that technique before and it is quite pretty.

  8. Christopher Shiner April 13, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    I love both of them for different reasons. I love the first one because of the moment it catches in time, giving you a chance to peak at something the human eye is incapable of seeing, and I love the second one cause of the hyper-reality that it presents. It’s closer to what the human eye would see, and yet it still has that beautiful surreal quality too it. And as always, you have such an eye for how to frame a shot. It looks like you are at some amazing spot in some beautiful jungle, but if you pulled the camera away and panned around, we’d see it’s some dingy part of a small forest of Blackiston Road Lmao. You make the ordinary beautiful. πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn April 13, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Aw, thank you Christopher. You are so sweet. I actually framed this one as the shot, no cropping necessary…I am getting better πŸ˜€

      And yes if you panned back well, it would still be pretty from the point of view I had but if I turned around it would be the road and some really muddy water πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

