Day 6 – Pink bats are for girls.

9 Apr

This is a little more photography and photoshop combined, which are two of my favorite things to spend time on. Many people believe that the artistry in taking a photo is the raw unedited shot but I simply do not agree with that line of thinking. I think the editing process can bring to life something that the camera maybe couldn’t capture and both forms of artistry are valid on their own. Sometimes a simple crop can change a photo from “okay” to “wow” so why should the editing process stop there?

Some of you may not agree with me and that is okay because spending time in photoshop editing a photo with thousands of possibilities isn’t for everyone, but I love every second of it and I have only touched on about 10% of what photoshop can do. All I did with this photo is desaturated each color hue to zero except for the redΒ  and then I added a blurred black border and took the fill down on that layer to about 75%. This shot was interesting in its original form but now it better reflects me and that is what this blog is all about.

Pink Slugger Bat

Pink Slugger Bat

louisville slugger-day 6-1

This is the original photo.

By the way the title of this comes from Christopher when he said to me “oh look they made these bats for you!”

18 Responses to “Day 6 – Pink bats are for girls.”

  1. Laura April 10, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    Nice! I likey!

  2. NYnancy April 10, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I love what you did with this, and thank you for explaining it.

    • mindymilburn April 10, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      Thank you Nancey! I was thinking about putting tutorials up with the ones I edited in photoshop and your positive reaction just affirmed that πŸ™‚

  3. BILL April 10, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    OK.. A black bat, and a white bat… I’m having a L-O-S-T moment. If you don’t watch L-O-S-T, then you won’t understand the comment… but it’s kind of creepy.. LOL I envy people that know how to use PHOTOSHOP. One of these days, I’ll have the time to learn it and become really dangerous.

    • mindymilburn April 10, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      First off Bill you would love photoshop, it seemed so daunting to me at first but I have had so much fun learning, and like I said I only know how to do about 10% of the things you can do with that program πŸ™‚ If you ever need any help getting started just let me know.

      Secondly, I watch Lost and I love lost…why don’t I get this reference!?!? I am just sitting here staring at the screen waiting for that “OH YEAH” moment and it is not happening lol

  4. Susan April 10, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    I love it! Why would I need to learn photoshop when I have you? Hee.

    But I can see why some would say “No, you need to use the raw version of a picture”. However, if you have the eye to take an awesome picture … and then the talent and eye to make it even awsomer (is that a word?) then go for it.

    Would you consider posting both the raw and the edited version so we can see both?

  5. mindymilburn April 10, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Thank you Susan and you were one of the reasons I learned photoshop, so you get a free pass for life πŸ™‚

    Awesomer is a word in my book, and that is how I feel about it exactly. If you can find away to make something your own then who is anyone else to tell you that isn’t the way to go?

    I will re-edit this post to include the original version…very good idea!

    • Susan April 10, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      Yes, well it’s a word if you spell it correctly. Heh. I tried to edit, but that is not a feature.

      “Making it your own” is a perfect way to put it. I like the colors of the bats in the original but the background in the photoshopped one, you know I like color. But it doesn’t matter what I like, it’s your picture and your vision that makes it perfect. It’s the effect YOU are looking for that makes it your own. And I love seeing things through your eyes!

      Thanks for posting the original, I like the comparison.

      • mindymilburn April 10, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

        I do know that you love color lol so I will keep that in mind when taking photos because if I get in my own head it will all be B&W and I need to expand the way I think πŸ™‚

        Thank you for the suggestion of putting in the original.

  6. Laura April 10, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    I’ve been enjoying looking at your picture blog each day. Oh how I wish I had a least a little bit of a photographer’s eye. I’ve tried a couple times (during a light snow shower a month ago, the snow was glistening like diamonds and there was a dried leaf on the driveway that was filled with snow…it looked so pretty so I ran in and got my camera…it wasn’t as pretty in the pic 😦

    Keep up with the great shots and the explanations. Maybe some of it will rub off on me.

    • mindymilburn April 10, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

      Laura Thank you so much for reading I really appreciate it.

      I can’t tell you how many times I have tried to take photos of the snow glistening in the sun or moon light and FAILED miserably. So keep trying. If you have tried a few times that means you must like taking photos and I say keep doing it.

      You will find some great tutorials online for whichever camera you own and that will help a lot.

      Thank you again πŸ™‚

  7. Kimmy April 10, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Both pictures stand equally strong on their own but I love what you did with it. Amazing how a few changes makes it look completely different. I vote YES on the tutorials by the way. You know I never did learn how to use PHOTOSHOP and only ever dabbled in PAINT SHOP instead lol. It’s been so long since I’ve messed with it that my intention is to re-learn so to speak on PHOTOSHOP. I will be calling you for sure!

    PS – Maybe Bill is referencing the whole good vs. evil thing from Lost. πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn April 10, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

      I was thinking the same thing about good v. evil but I wasn’t sure lol

      Thanks for the compliment Kimmy and yes it really is amazing how little changes can make it totally different.I know you share my love of the edit so when you get back into it please let me know!

  8. Cindy April 10, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Well, I love the pink bats. I want one and I have no idea why as I haven’t used a bat forever. But I have a pink guitar hanging on my wall that I can’t play so…

    Seriously, love the pics, sweetie! You are so super-duper talented. And I totally agree with you about using Photoshop to enhance an already great shot. Why the hell not? That’s called art. Photoshop is great – I’ve been using it for years and still don’t know all it’s capable of either!

    • mindymilburn April 11, 2010 at 10:12 am #

      Thank you sweet girl! You made me smile.

      I knew you would get the whole photoshop love lol

  9. Christopher Shiner April 12, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Man I’m so glad I saw those pink bats for you to take a picture of, cause they are totally you, and you made this picture pop so much more than I even expected, and I expected a lot! πŸ™‚ And ditto on the photoshop love. It’s amazing that you turned just that one bat white, as well as the background black and white, and it took an already great picture to the next level. And for me, having the background black and white made it classier, and put all of the focus on the bats. Which is perfect. I think the Louisville Slugger Museum wouldn’t mind putting this in a picture frame. So so good.

    • mindymilburn April 12, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

      As always you are the best! Now should we just show up there with a framed photo or maybe email it to someone LOL!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

