Day 5 – Michaelson/Kearney

8 Apr

I am kind of cheating today because while I took the photo I didn’t take it today. I was cleaning off all of my memory cards and forgot that I had yet to download the photos I took when I went to see Ingrid Michaelson and Mat Kearney last week and I just had to share. This was not only one of the best concerts I have been to, this is what I would love to do for a living. No, not sing and believe me you don’t want to hear that, but go to live shows and take photographs. I would be happy living my life that way!

Indoor concerts are probably the worst lighting situation for any amateur photographer without those fantastic lenses I covet on a daily basis, but if you can find your settings there are hours of photographs waiting to happen. The only downside is that when you feel like you have the shutter speed just right, the ISO set and are ready to go they change the lighting and you have to start all over again. If you are really lucky you will get a lighting friendly venue that seems to be in tune with exactly what you need including soft white spot lights and every corner of the stage is lit up but if you are very unlucky the whole show will be washed in red lighting like you are walking the streets of Amsterdam.

This is just one of the many shots I got that night because the whole show was filled with “moments” so I hope you guys enjoy this little taste of what I got to see. I imported the photo into photoshop and converted it to black and white because I am a sucker for a black and white photo.

Ingrid Michaelson & Mat Kearney

In case you are interested, here is a video I took of Michaelson singing a cover of “Toxic” It was fantastically hilarious.

7 Responses to “Day 5 – Michaelson/Kearney”

  1. Lisa April 8, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Beautiful!:D

  2. Kimmy April 9, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    What a great shot Mindy. Black and white just highlights the beauty in a picture doesn’t it? Nice touch πŸ˜€

    • mindymilburn April 9, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      Thanks Kimmy, I think everything looks better in B&W πŸ™‚ I have to stop myself from converting every photo I take lol!

  3. BILL April 9, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    These PHOTO BLOGS are a fantastic idea. I’ve always been a sucker for B&W. It’s all about the shadows…
    (Can you imagine having a job, that would be that fun, every day?)

    • mindymilburn April 9, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      Bill I really can’t even imagine how happy I would be doing that for a living LOL πŸ™‚

      Thank you for reading the blog and commenting, you are a sweetheart and I think B&W photos are just gorgeous. They add so much and it is just so classic and beautiful.

  4. Susan April 10, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Okay,let’s not get carried away here! You know I’m not a fan of “everything looks better in black and white” because I love color. But, I will say some pictures just pop in black and white, and this one surely does.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

