Day 4 – I Took a Louisville Slugger to Both Headlights

7 Apr

The title of this blog is fitting for so many different reasons today. Let me just say that someone stole my iPhone from work  and I have to wait 20 days until I am eligible for an upgrade. I am so addicted to my phone that I am seriously lost without it, so to make a long story short, if I knew who did it I wouldn’t mind acting out that scene from the video at all.

Enough ranting and on to the photos. I wasn’t sure if I was even going to feel like going out and taking shots after all that went on but it was a beautiful night and after taking such good care of me all day Christopher drove me over to Main Street in Louisville so I could take some night time photos and experiment with my manual settings. Night scenes are so challenging for me because I never think the lighting looks natural and I can’t seem to get it to look exactly the way I see it through the lens. I played a lot with ISO, shutter speed, white balance, and aperture tonight and ending up getting pretty close to what I could see with my naked eye.

If you listen to Carrie Underwood, watched any movie involving baseball, are a baseball fan, or pretty much if you have a pulse you will recognize the subject of my photos today. We walked the deserted streets on Main in downtown Louisville until we made it to the bat factory and I set up the tripod and snapped away. With each frame I changed all of the settings until I got the exposure  I was looking for and I was so happy that I was able to get fairly close with the true color hues of the street (which I always struggle with.)

Main Street in Downtown Louisville

Louisville Slugger Bat Factory

13 Responses to “Day 4 – I Took a Louisville Slugger to Both Headlights”

  1. Laura April 7, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    That’s cool! Did you use a tripod?

    • mindymilburn April 8, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      Oh yes to the tripod Laura 🙂 i still have issues with night scenes even with the tripod. Like I said the color is never right. But those photos were pretty darn close and I realize that Louisville is a little on the yellowish side at night lol

  2. Lisa April 7, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    What cool shots! (And… AWWWWWWW for the iPhone trauma! Hate that!!) Great job Mindy! 🙂

  3. Christopher Shiner April 8, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Those shots are so awesome! And the colors are perfect. They are exactly what it looked like in person. And you framed them beautifully. Me likey!

    • mindymilburn April 8, 2010 at 10:10 am #

      Thank you for taking me to get these shots and for helping me get the settings right!

  4. Kimmy April 8, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    They are beautiful Min! I love the yellow hue to them. Cute blog by the way 😛

    • mindymilburn April 8, 2010 at 11:12 am #

      I never realized the yellow tint that downtown Louisville has but it really does at night, it is very beautiful.

      I think you should do this project with me Kimmy 🙂

  5. BILL April 8, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    AWESOME!

    • mindymilburn April 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

      Thank you so much for checking out my blog Bill!

  6. Stasia April 8, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    That’s awesome! Now you just have to REMEMBER the settings you used! 😉

    • mindymilburn April 8, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

      LOL! I think it will be different at every location but by gosh if I have to shoot down on Main Street I know the settings 🙂

  7. Susan April 10, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Carrie who?

    Your pictures are always so crisp! These are great.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

