Day 3 – Let Them Eat Cake

6 Apr

Today’s photo was one I actually had to do because I am doing some graphic and photo work for a local restaurant and this is one of the shots I brought home with me. I didn’t use any new settings or techniques because honestly I just didn’t have time to think about it after work so I rushed over to the restaurant, took my photos, and came home.

I will say that if you are a amateur photographer and you are looking for something to be inspired by or practice on, food is the perfect subject. You might feel a bit foolish pulling your camera out at the table but it makes for some gorgeous photos. I went to Kuwait last year and one of the photographers that was with us took photos at every meal of everyone’s plates and they were some of the most beautiful shots I have ever seen. The colors are always so vivid and many times even the settings or dinnerware are just as interesting to shoot.

In other words, suck it up and drag your camera to the dinner table. I think you will be surprised at the outcome of the photos that you will get.

Dessert is the Best Part of the Meal

5 Responses to “Day 3 – Let Them Eat Cake”

  1. Laura April 6, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Yummy!

  2. Susan April 6, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    How pretty! That whipped cream with the bright red cherry sure does make for a great picture!

    • mindymilburn April 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      Thanks Ladies and yes Susan food always makes for a great photo, then again I love chocolate cake so that might be why I like it so much lol

  3. Christopher Shiner April 7, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Mmmmm chocolate. That’s a great shot. And I’m lucky. Since I’m working with Mindy on the restaurant project I get to see all the other pictures she took and can’t wait to see how good they look. She’s so talented!

    • mindymilburn April 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      You are too sweet and literally what would I do without you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

