Day 365 – The End

4 Apr

Let me warn you in advance this is going to get wordy!

I thought long and hard about how I wanted to end this blog… should I save a “wow” photo for last, do a collage of my favorites from the year, do a self-portrait, and on and on I asked myself. I finally came to the conclusion that it should be about thanking all of you that have went on this journey with me. My final 365 photo is a collage of shots from my everyday life that spell out the words thank you because that is really all I have left to say. (My first thank you should go to my friend Whitney for inspiring the idea)

I can’t believe it has been a year and I have very mixed emotions about it coming to an end. On one hand I am so happy that I am not obligated to post a photo every single day because there were days where  I ended up posting anything I could take a shot of and it seemed like such a chore. I have such an obsessive personality that I couldn’t allow myself to miss one day.  On the other hand I have learned so much through this process about photography and myself,  and I have made so many amazing friends.

Although this project is coming to a close I am not going anywhere (I know you are all breathing a sigh of relief :)). I will still post and continue to share my photography with those that are willing to continue to support what I am doing. I will most likely turn this into a project 52 or as Christopher suggested turn this into ‘Mindy’s Any Damn Time I Want To Photo Blog’. I have enjoyed sharing with you guys far too much to stop completely and as you may have guessed I have no intentions of putting down the camera any time soon!

I can’t end this journey without saying thank you to many different people starting with my mom, Beth and Christopher who went out with me on so many photography adventures. You three have supported all my crazy behavior and obsession throughout this year and love you to pieces for always being there for me in every way possible. I will never be able to thank you enough.

To my friends (Kim, Jackie, Bonnie, Lecia, Jennifer, Susan, Thomas, Shari, Barbara, and many others)  that have been so supportive with encouraging words, a pat on the back, leaving me comments on fb to let me know you are there, posting  all of my tweets, or sharing your own blogs and taking the journey with me. You have all been such an important part of this year for me and I am so grateful.

To the many photographers that I found through twitter who have both inspired me and helped me through this process. I consider you all friends now and I am so grateful to have stumbled across your pages and had the opportunity to learn from you and build a friendship. It will take too long to list all of you but you know who you are! Most of  them are listed on the side of my blog  so GO CHECK THEM OUT THEY ARE ALL AMAZING!!! Yes that warranted all caps (Rob don’t kill me lol)

Cathy you are definitely my kindred spirit and I am amazed by you every day!

Paul & Jon I definitely want to be like the two of you when I grow up!

DPixel and Dana, the two of you have definitely made me smile throughout the entire year and the work that you do has inspired me to no end!

To all my friends that came here on a regular basis and left such kind comments, I can’t even begin to say thank you. You made the days when it felt like a chore worth it and I am so grateful that you guys took the time out of your life to share in mine. You have been so supportive and kind and I have no words to express what that has meant. I have found friends all across the country and a few outside of the country through this process and that has been the best gift. Again, you all know who you are so I won’t make a huge list but I will mention you again Miss Barbara because your words have especially stood out to me and meant so much.

So as one door closes I say thank you to all of you for so many reasons and I look forward to sharing the next chapter with you!

 

33 Responses to “Day 365 – The End”

  1. Whitney Taylor April 4, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    MINDY! You are amazing! A huge accomplishment! I can’t even imagine what it feels like! I’m just about half way, but I can’t decide if I’m waiting for it to end, or wishing every day could last longer. :) I love the collage, it turned out fantastic. And again, you are amazing! I’m glad to hear that I can count on you to post more photos, but it must be nice to get the burden of everyday lifted. I love your photos and I feel blessed that I could share part of your journey with you!

  2. BILL April 4, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    “Life should be a journey for your heart”… and your pictures certainly have enriched my life over the past year. Thanks for sharing this journey with us, and teaching us how to look at the world in a new and unique way. You are one talented lady! <3

  3. dpixel365 April 4, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Whoa! What a wonderful post to end with. It is so fulfilling to complete this goal, so CONGRATS.

    I do hope you continue to post “whenever you damn well feel” LOL

    you are an amazing photographer with a great eye to compose the obvious.

    Talk to you soon and best of luck to your Mom.

  4. Terri Jacobson April 4, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Way to go Mindy! I loved the 365 and learned so much from it.

    You’ve posted some beautiful photos, I look forward to seeing what you come up with now.

  5. Beth April 4, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I am so proud of you! I am so happy I was able to share this journey with you. There were many nights I stayed up late waiting to read your blog and to see another one of your amazing pictures. I can only imagine what it was like to HAVE to post something everyday. I would have given up after about a week.
    I can’t wait until we have nicer weather so we can go on another “adventure” together. We still need to go to that overpass you originally wanted to go to. I will be sad not to read your blog everyday, but maybe now I will get to bed earlier. You have a special eye to see the things you see. Your pictures are one of kind. :-) I LOVE YOU and you amaze me with your talents.

  6. Sharon April 4, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Mindy, I can’t believe it’s been a year!! I’m sad to see this come to an end. I haven’t left a lot of comments, but I’ve looked every day and am always impressed with your talent. You have a natural, artistic eye when it comes to your photography and it makes me a bit jealous! ;) This has been a very enjoyable, inspiring blog. I look forward to more, wherever and whenever you are willing to share with us. Thank YOU for such a wonderful gift that you have given us. MWAH!!

  7. Dave Lifton April 4, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Congratulations, Mindy!

  8. T Strickland April 4, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Congratulations on completing your 365 Day project. It’s been a pleasure taking this journey with you, and I’ve enjoyed your images. You’ve encouraged me to press forward to shoot my image every day. I look forward to any photo blog that you put out.

    Congratulations again!

  9. Max Berkowitz April 4, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Congrats Mindy! Thank you for all of the wonderful comments you’ve left for me on my blog and for the #FF tweets. So…what’s next?

  10. Michael Parr April 4, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Congrats on 365 beautiful photos!

  11. Susan April 5, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    *sniff* Love you girl, and more importantly, I believe in you!

  12. Margaret April 5, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Congratulations! What a fantastic accomplishment, and it was a pleasure to follow your photos. You’ve a fantastic job and you should be very proud.

    Love the collage, it’s a work from the heart.

  13. Barbara April 5, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    Well now.

    It’s 3 o’clock in the morning and I couldn’t sleep. So – off to the computer and see who’s visited or get a game started or write or … well something.

    There’s Mindy. Oh great! Let’s see what she says today, let’s see her photo for today, check in on her mom – OH NO – it’s the last one! I’ve forgotten!

    So Mindy, I read your last blog for this project with tears in my eyes. It’s so emotional to know that this is the end of something that’s been an important part of my day for such a while now.

    Oh good, (I breathe a sigh of relief,) you’ll still be around.

    You are an amazing young woman. Your photographic work inspires me to look again at the unusual, to search for patterns in life and in nature, to continue to seek knowledge and most of all to share. Thank you for allowing me and all your friends and fans into part of your life.

    You are gifted, talented and full of life’s joy.

    Congratulations on completing your project. (I don’t know quite what to say about your kind words, except thank you – it’s been wonderful to share thoughts and ideas with you.)

    And thank you so much for becoming a friend – such a pleasure to get to know you and feel welcomed.

    So – onward girl! ever onward… we’ll be watching for what’s to come – I’ll bet it’s going to be even more fun now that you’ve got your feet wet!

    Barbara
    PS – the collage is truly a work of art as well as fun. You have a pixie spirit.

  14. schleefy April 5, 2011 at 3:52 am #

    You have done it. A big congratulations for achieving your goal. That is an awesome milestone…but for me it will be sad not to see your daily photo every morning when I sit at the coffee table round about 5:30 am (I check all blogs I follow at this time via my Iphone). I really like your photos your process work and I am going to miss them. So please post from time to time and don’t stop taking photos…..I bow myself low for your achievment…..

    Keep going and keep us up to date with all what will happen in your life with words and photos……

  15. Cathy Ross April 5, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Somehow along the way we discovered one another and how our styles are so in alignment…we truly must be soul sisters! I know you won’t let many days go by without posting…I’m not doing a 365 and I can’t let a day go by without a post :) I have learned so much from you and look forward each day to see how you see the world and you give me so many ideas and inspiration! Will you keep this blog going or start a new one? Anyway, congrats on finishing this project and I’m looking forward to what comes next!

  16. Jim Reed April 5, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Congrats on finishing up the 365 Mindy! I know what you mean about feeling obligated to post, and the relief it must be to complete that, I have the same sort of obsessive personality you do. On the other hand, I can imagine it’s a bit sad to finish up, I know I was sad to see you were done, I hadn’t noticed your 365th sneaking up! Glad to see you’ll still be posting, I look forward to seeing more!

  17. Shari April 5, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    It’s been a joy to read your blog!
    Full of mixed emotions too. Happy that you accomplished this goal. You took amazing photos and the write-ups were from your heart. Sad that the daily e-mail notice for your blog is gonna disappear along with a daily photo from you. We all know that it is all about me in the end so I say go for another 365 days ;)
    Thanks for helping me to see things in a new way.
    Congratulations on the accomplishment!!!!!

  18. Marian Allen April 5, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I’m so happy to have “met” you! Maybe we can meet for real sometime, since we live so close. :)

    HUGS to you and your precious mother from me and my precious mother.

  19. Bonnie Gunkel April 5, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Well my dear…what can I say that has not already been said above? Nothing. Except thank you for encouraging me. I never would have started my project had it not been for you coaxing me to take the first step. I never would have discovered that I actually do have a talent, and that now I also have a hobby that I am in love with! And thank you for your friendship. It goes without saying that it means the world to me. Thank you for your comments, ideas and suggestions on my blog, and for believing in me.

    I too am going to miss your daily posts. But like you, have found so many talented people that have traveled this journey with us, and I am thankful for them as well. So many people from which to draw inspiration and encouragement. It’s been a great trip! And thanks again for getting me started on mine. Love you girl!

  20. Jackie April 5, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Mindy, you are an amazing person. I am so blessed to have you in my life. Congrats for doing and completing your 365 photo blog! What an absolutely incredible accomplishment!!! This is bittersweet for me. I loved getting a piece of you everyday and now it will be missing. The sweet part is knowing that I will now receive ‘Mindy’s Any Damn Time I Want To Photo Blog’!!! It must be such a relief to be able to post when you want to and not when you have to.

    I love you so much. Hug your mom for me and please please keep me posted on her health. You are such a good daughter. Oh and have her hug you for me! xoxoxo

  21. Missy April 5, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Congratualtions!!!! YAY I am so glad that you are not going to stop blogging. Cute photo’s I love that idea. Hope you have an awesome day ;)

  22. eFe April 5, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Hello, Mindy! Congratulations on your photographic journey! Thanks for sharing your everyday look upon the world with us! I hope like me, the project has assured him good thoughts about life, mostly about the small stuff. Now, I sincerely hope the picture is in you, even more intense and alive, and do not let the challenges aside, how about starting the 52? Big hug from Brazil! Kisses!

  23. Paul R. Giunta April 5, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Mindy,

    Congratulations on the tremendous accomplishment!! I know that it is not an easy task to complete. I know that you learned a lot about your camera, your craft, and yourself over this past year. It is nothing that can ever be taken away from you and should serve as a reminder that you are capable of great things.

  24. Jun Belen April 5, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Congratulations! What a fine accomplishment. Your collection is amazing!! I started my project 365 the day after Christmas and it has been a wonderful journey so far. But I can definitely relate to those days when taking a photograph was a chore. It has definitely forced me to be creative and I’m sure you can very well say the same thing. Congratulations again!

  25. Leslie April 5, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Congratulations! Hoping you just keep going

  26. Lecia April 5, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Wow Min, I can’t believe this is #365. CONGRATULATIONS!!! What an accomplishment to be proud of. Please know that I am so very proud of you. I read your blog on the bus this morning and after reading it, I closed my eyes and reflected on so many of your photos from the past year and once again said to myself, she is an amazing talent. Then as I started to open my eyes, I felt a little tear start to come. I shocked myself, because as you know it is so unlike me to be emotional about anything. But that is just how much I love and adore you, and admire your talent. Whenever the subject of photography comes up, I always talk about you and your super 365 blog, and often an email with a link follows. I figure a link is best, because my words could never do the talent behind your photos justice, and I start to sound like an idiot trying to explain the way you see things and your different techniques. “It’s so cool”, just doesn’t do it. LOL!!! Let me say it again, I am so proud of you. You have been blessed with a wonderful gift and I look forward to seeing much much more from you.

    I love you and I believe in you. And hey, I want to be like U when I grow up.

  27. Tracyrinaldi April 5, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Congrats Mindy! What a journey you have shared with us~ it’s been quite a treat :) Thank YOU!!

  28. Kerri April 5, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Yipppeeee! Thank you for sharing your images and your life and YOUR HEART with us!!

  29. pearlsandprose April 5, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    So glad to hear you’re going to continue blogging. :)

    A huge congrats for a job so well done!

  30. Cindy G April 6, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    What an amazing journal of the past year you have! You are a great photographer with an amazing eye. Keep going…

  31. Celina Wyss April 7, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Congrats on your finish! It has been so fun seeing your 365 journey!

  32. Dijea April 8, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Congratulations! I hope you won’t stop posting photos.

  33. Ken Shane April 8, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Mindy, congratulations on a great accomplishment. I have enjoyed seeing your photographs, and reading your words each day. I hope that you’ll do another year if the spirit moves you.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive, etc.

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,320 other followers

