Day 342 – Street Corner Symphony

12 Mar

In case you haven’t noticed I am sort of a music fan. If I could go to a live show every night I happily would, so any chance I get to go to a show I grab it. I was a huge fan of the show The Sing Off and while I did like the group that won, Street Corner Symphony was my favorite. If you haven’t seen the show or heard of these guys please check out the links, especially if you are a fan of a cappella music.

My partner in crime for most of my live music adventures is Beth and luckily for me she stumbled across a post mentioning that SCS would be coming through Louisville in March. I think her exact text was. “GUESS WHO IS COMING TO LOUISVILLE!!!????” We were so excited because we couldn’t make it to the first concert they did after the finale of the show so we were counting down the days to see them live.

They performed some original tunes, did a couple of acoustic numbers, sang most of the favorites from the show, and then did this amazing version of Shenandoah. Needless to say they did not disappoint. At one point they stepped off the staged and announced that we were too far away and asked us to all stand up and crowd around them while they sang without mics on the dance floor. They laughed when they hit a bobble in the music and had great chemistry with one another. The informal nature of their performance coupled with the flat-out amazing talent that each one of them have made it one of the most entertaining shows I have ever been to. We had the change to meet each guy after the show and they seem very down to earth and grateful for each kind word thrown at them. On the way home we were all talking about how we were still smiling from ear to ear. That is the sign of a good night.

And might I just add that lead singer Jeremy Lister has one of the most amazing voices EVER! He told the audience that he has lost his voice the night before and was still nursing it during our show. You would never have known that he wasn’t at 100%. The first shot is him belting out this long, incredible high note during Creep which was fantastic!

Jeremy Lister - Street Corner Symphony

Mark McLemore, Street Corner Symphony

Adam Chance, Street Corner Symphony

Street Corner Symphony

Street Corner Symphony

 

Street Corner Symphony, Jeremy Lister, Richie Lister, John Martin

 

Here is my favorite performance of theirs on the show. I already loved this song for several reasons but this was such a great performance.

6 Responses to “Day 342 – Street Corner Symphony”

  1. schleefy March 13, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    Good event photos…like the first one…..
    great video…..

  2. Barbara March 13, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Great shots Mindy you’ve really caught the energy of the group. My youngest son is a musician and has a dance band that breaks into a jazz combo etc… when he was in his teens and early 20s he worked with a couple of bands that traveled around and played rock and roll and whatever – He always told me that it was the people that made the music so great for him. People like you and Beth. He still feels the same way. If people don’t get up and dance, he doesn’t have as much fun. So it’s great that you two young women go out and support your favourite musicians and groups!

  3. Susan March 13, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Never watched “Sing Off” and never heard of these guys, but after watching that video I can’t imagine they didn’t win! The pictures are amazing.

  4. Margaret March 13, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Never seen Sing Off, but these guys are pretty good… remind me of Rockapella and Straight No Chaser. Love a good Acapella group!

    You got some awesome shots there!

  5. Beth March 13, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Eeeek…. I love these pictures!! That was such an entertaining show :-) LOVE them! I am so happy to be your partner in crime.

  6. Whitney Taylor March 15, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Awesome! these are great. I watched the sing off for a while, the a cappella group from my school was on there, but once they got kicked off I stopped watching. I love these photos. Live music shots are definitely your calling :)

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive, etc.

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,320 other followers

